My Reviews (159)

Sesame Zucchini Bake

Zucchini is combined with sesame seeds and parmesan cheese to create a delicious side dish. You might find it is done sooner than 20 minutes - start checking after 10.
Reviews (159)


16 May 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
This would rate 5 stars if it weren't for the fact the cooking time was off. This was a very tasty blend of ingredients, and was attractive to serve, but at 20 minutes the zucchini all but turned to mush. What a shame. I would suggest checking this after 10 minutes, then adding a minute or two as needed until your desired degree of tenderness. Twenty minutes, I believe, would be way too overcooked for anyone. It lost both color as well as flavor, and the mushy texture is unappealing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: zetta
This one's gotten rave reviews from all my friends. I also cut the olive oil in half, and add a bit more sesame seeds. I find it works best to coat the zucchini in oil, then sprinkle on the other ingredients and mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: IAMJENNIE
I added a can of black beans and a can of chickpeas to the recipe to make it a main dish instead of a side dish. I doubled everything except for the zucchini and it turned out great. The beans and zucchini were coated with a flavourful, crisp coating that my husband and I both enjoyed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Janine
I really liked this, but feel the cooking time is off. I cooked mine at 375 for 10 minutes and 5 minutes on broil. They were perfect and absolutely delicious! The cayenne lends a nice bite. For a special touch, sprinkle extra parmesan after pulling out of oven. Thank you for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: PINTSIZELINDA
the zucchini was flavorful and easy to make. i used 2 zucchinis and the oil was a little much, so i'd cut back a lot on the oil next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: ZBABY
delicious, I throw all ingredients in a zip bag and shake to cover well! Party Pleaser
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: HappyMommy2
Very Tasty! I took the advice of others and reduced the olive oil, thank goodness because I thought it was too much even reduced! I have made it several times and am using more sesame oil instead for the flavor and adding more cayenne for the kick. The kids balk sometimes, but us grown ups love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: JBKORNAZ
Great idea! My kids loved this but I did make some changes. Instead of olive oil, I used two tablespoons of low cal Italian dressing to save on fat and calories. My kids do not like sesame seeds so I left them out. I baked them in a deeper dish instead of in one layer and, of course, that takes longer. My kids loved it and so did I -- I will make this one again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: MISSSMEW2
As someone who is really not fond of zucchini, I must say this was a very nice side dish. I only used 1 tablespoon of olive oil, and the next time I make this recipe, I'll try using olive oil cooking spray instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2008
The sesame oil flavor was delicious. I didn't measure anything and I must admit that I'm a sucker for pan-fried zucchini, so after baking it for about 10 minutes or so, I dumped into a hot frying pan for a few minutes. I don't think this recipe will serve 4.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes