My Reviews (69)

Easy Rhubarb Topping

This brightly-coloured topping is incredibly easy to make. Serve it warm over vanilla ice cream, cake, apple pie, or any dessert that needs an extra dash of sweetness!
Reviews (69)


05 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Donna Batten
Great recipe! My garden produced an overabundance of rhubarb this year. Usually, I make strawberry rhubarb pie and strawberry rhubarb jam, but I had an angel food cake on hand and decided on the rhubarb sauce. After reading the reviews, I decided to use a cup of bing cherries I also had on hand and a dash of red food coloring; I also added a bit of vanilla extract. My mother used to make Rhubarb Sauce every summer, and it brought back memories. I'm going to freeze the extra sauce for use throughout the year.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: WACKY124D
Because of the previous reviewers' suggestion, I also put a squirt of vanilla in at the end. In addition, I used 1/3 cup brown sugar instead of the white, and added a dash of cinnamon. I also have made this substituting a cup of frozen cranberries for a cup of the rhubarb. Yummmm!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: twebby
Yummy! Can be made with less butter and sugar for the health-concious Also don't worry too much about cutting the rhubarb - it will just boil down
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: GAYL*MI
AWESOME!!!!! I haven't had rhubarb sauce since I was a kid and boy does this taste great. My son is in love with this sauce. The only change I made was I added a little more sugar and when it was done cooking, I added a little vanilla. Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2007
Reviewed by: Bryan
I used 3 cups rhubarb and 1 cup frozen strawberries and it was delicious. Just like my gramdma used to make. I like it over ice cream or spread over toast the best! I also foungd it easiest to just toss the rhubarb and strawberries along with the melted buter and sugar into the blender for a spin to get the smooth texture. Thanks for posting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2007
Reviewed by: KatieMac
This is really easy to make and I added strawberries too--I meant to serve it with yogurt or over ice cream but ended up spreading a lot on toast and it was really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Kristi U.
I made this but would have preferred it be sweeter. I will add strawberries next time. Also, I took the advice given about not cutting fine because it will cook down. I cut to 2-inch pieces. Yes, it does cook down, but then it is more stringy, so I will chop it more fine next time. Just thought I'd share this for others.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: gapch1026
I added vanilla at the end of cooking as suggested by other reviews... vanilla makes any dessert sauce better! A delicious (and quick!) spring dessert served over angel food cake with a whipped cream garnish...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2009
Reviewed by: Jen
This recipe is very tasty and so easy! I also used 3 cups rhubarb and one cup frozen strawberries. Then reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup. I used an immersion blender to make the mixture nice and smooth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: PHOEBE TAKAHASHI
I love dis recipe but not my favourite!! I tried making it. My mum was da 1st 1 2 try it. She loved it so she asked me 2 bake it again!! Thanx Michele!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes