My Reviews (12)

Beef and Lentils Stew

Beef and lentils are accented with turnip, sultanas and figs. It is a hardy yet easy one pot meal. Serve with potatoes or warm bread.
Reviews (12)


27 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: strictlyamateur
A little on the sweet side. I would reduce the amount of raisins and also chop the figs into very small pieces. For some reason, my meat turned out a bit too chewy, even though I followed the directions to a T. Perhaps next time I would shorten the browning time in the pan. That being said, it's an interesting twist on stew and has lots of great flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: naomikauf
I loved the flavors but I don't have nutmeg so I changed nutmeg to fenugreek and it was delicious! I also used radish instead of turnip. What a wonderful smell! Mmmm. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Cookingforfun
I loved this but my husband did not, so I will make this for me on the nights he can not be home. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: MOEOCEAN
This is excellent - sweet and unique, my boyfriend couldn't get enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: TPFEISEL
A fantastic combination of flavors. Great for those cooler fall nights when stews keep you warm from the inside. This one quickly became a favoritte in our family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Laura Rampersad
Flavor is a 5, but dish in not too colorful. I will make it again! I substituted potato and onion for turnip (no turnips at the local farmstand)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Doreen
Very good! I took other member's advise and cut the figs really small. I am a true believer of flavor so I tripled the spices plus I added another 1/4 cup of turnip (3/4 cup). It was a really big hit! I cook for my boyfriend and our employee for LUNCH, everybody LOVED it. I also changed things around for the crockpot. I cooked the beef in the chicken stock (plus about 3/4 cup) in the crockpot overnight on the "warm" setting. Once I arrived at work (7:30am), I added the turnips and lentils and placed the cooker on low. About an hour before serving, I added the raisins and figs. Everyone loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Staci
Yummy! I didn't have several of the ingredients, so had to substitute (sweet potato for turnip, assorted dried fruit for figs), but it was still a great recipe for using beef stew meat and lentils.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: mrs. kosmos
I only used 1/2 C raisins because it was all I had on hand. Used green lentils. Hubby, 15 month old and I all loved it. Update: I make this regularly now. I often sub 1 C of white or sweet potatoes for the lentils. When I make this change, I also reduce the liquid by 1 C. Its fab this way, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: Seabreeze
I liked it, but found that I want to change the cooking time. I tend to like beef medium rare, but 45 minutes of simmering takes the beef to medium well or so. Meanwhile, the cooking time for lentils needed to be longer. With these changes, I will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes