My Reviews (158)

Beef and Mixed Vegetable Soup

This hearty soup is great on a cold winter's day. Packed with beef and vegetables it can be served with homemade bread to make a full meal.
Reviews (158)


03 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: ATKINSOJ
On a whim I decided to cook vegetable soup. Having never made vegetable soup, I was a little leery especially since my husband is hard to please. Success! Not only is this easy but it is also tasty and made my house smell awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: JPOTS
For the amount of effort, this was fabulous. I didn't worry about cooking things ahead since everything softened during the simmering. I brought things to a boil after loading the pot, then turned down to a simmer. I used fresh green beans and frozen corn. I also used white potatoes which worked fine. Red are firmer over time, but this didn't last long. Could add some canned tomatoes next time perhaps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: PHISHBRAIN
Great base for soup! I added a few extras like zukini, celery, and diced tomatoes. The whole family enjoyed it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: big_al_728
This recipe was great! I was skeptical because it was so simple, and I'm used to seeing recipes that use several different spices, etc., but it was fabulous as is. I didn't put any corn in because it seemed out of place, and the potatoes took a little longer to get tender than the recipe says. I used canned green beans and they worked fine. It's nice to have a recipe you can throw together and walk away from, and it turns out delicious and filling. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Connie
Sunday is "clean out the frig day" and it's sleeting and snowing here-burr cold outside! I had lots of fresh carrots and broccoli to use up. Made this soup with just a few changes in the vegs and cooked in the crock pot all day, it was wonderful! Had my brother for dinner and he loved it my hubby had 3 bowls. Also served hot crusty rolls with it. Will make this again soon. This recipe has lots of possibilites with the vegs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: AELLIS1989
This was a very good & easy recipe...I love the juice cocktail base. Also, the red potatoes are important as they are firm & hold up better in soup. I did add a can of diced garlic tomatoes, but otherwise followed the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: DIJ72
I made this for my in-laws and they loved it. My father-in-law is really picky about his soup. Will definately make this again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: SPECBEARCA
Great stuff! Super easy and versatile. used spicy V8 and added garlic. Can't wait to share it with my husband when he gets home!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2006
Great soup! Easy as can be and the V8 makes it very hearty. I cheated and used onion powder, some baby carrots and and added extra potatoes (I love them) and it turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: JAGGEDLNS
This was simple and incredibly good! Used both ground beef and a little leftover chuck roast with dripings, tomato soup, added zucchini, and no potatoes. Yum. On my keep list.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes