My Reviews (44)

Brown Rice Salad with Avocado

The avocado makes the dressing a little creamy though feel free to leave it out if you wish. Best made the same day you are going to serve it.
Reviews (44)


02 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: LJOY
I hate it when people rate a recipe when they actually made it differently. But...I was put off by the submitters instruction that the tomato and cucumber meant the salad needed to be eaten the same day. So, I left them out and served tomato, cucumber and avocado on the side. The salad, which I had doubled, lasted well for almost a week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2010
Reviewed by: CC<3's2bake
Very nice alternative to the usual Greek salad. I love the mint, it really makes this salad a standout recipe. As directed, I wouldn't serve it immediately nor chill it for an hour. The flavors need time to meld and chilling it would kill the flavor. I let it sit, covered, at room temp for 30 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Joan
I was a little nervous making this because our dinner guests were Greek. Not to worry, this salad was FANTASTIC. Made exactly as stated, except used frozen brown rice from Trader Joe's which is ready in 3 minutes. Big time saver.I also used Roma tomatoes and cut out the pulp and seeds. This makes the salad less "watery" Thanks for a great recipe!! Loved it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: belethien
Easy, delicious and addictive! I omitted the mint and feta (didn't have those on hand) and used black olives and organic short grain brown rice. Still fabulous. I crave it now. Even enjoyed leftovers the next day. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: lmcg4
I have made this 4 times in the past 6 weeks, it is incredible! Perfect for the summer when it's just too hot to cook. Some tips that I've found make a difference: 1-Adding a couple tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar really add another dimension to the flavour, and 2-DO NOT omit the avocado! It breaks down a bit in the salad to give a great creamy texture, I made it once without it because I didn't have one and the texture was nasty--kinda dry and oily at the same time. Other than that the only thing I change is using green olives out of personal preference, but I'm sure it's just as awesome with black. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Kerry
Left out the onions....recipe was enjoyed by everyone. I think orzo would be good to use as well....the long grain rice is a bit sticky.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Catherine L.
Super tasty. Perfect for lunch. I actually added some fried tofu in it, to add some proteins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Donna Fiola
Enjoyable and healthy I followed the recipie as written and really liked it It does make a large amount Next time I will make half as I am alone . The mint is fantastic and so fresh tasting Absolutely a keeper
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Marieclaire0924
This was awesome. I did not have any mint and I used green olives instead of kalamata olives. I also added extra avocado because I love it so much. I will definitely be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Mom of Three
Very tasty, healthy and easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes