My Reviews (47)

Spiced Zucchini Muffins

Easy to make muffins with the flavours of cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. The addition of zucchini makes them extra moist and delicious.
Reviews (47)


10 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
These did indeed smell spicy as they were baking! In fact, when I tried one I was surprised to find they weren't as spicy as the aroma led me to imagine they'd be. Not that that's a bad thing! These are, in fact, delicately spiced (I used all spices as directed) and just barely sweet, which is actually refreshing for a muffin (if I want cake, I'll eat cake). However, if you like a sweeter muffin you could easily add a little more sugar. I used candy coated/chocolate covered sunflower seeds which I've learned bleed in wet batters! (But are great in cookie doughs) While the sunflower seeds were "ok," I think I'd rather have raisins, dates or other dried fruit that might add that hint of sweetness and contrasting flavor that these missed for me. These are definitely flavorful, moist and bake up with pretty, domed tops. I left some of them as is and glazed the rest with a mixture of powdered sugar and lemon juice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: JAX2364
After mixing the wet and dry ingredients, there just wasn't enough moisture to combine the two. I added about 3 tablespoons of water and that did the trick. I baked them for 27 minutes. They turned out really well and super moist. The sunflower seeds adds a nice texture. I will make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: FRAMBUESA
These are definitely spice muffins. I couldn't find my coriander so I left it out, but there was plenty of spice flavor in them without it. I added one large grated carrot to the zucchini and used prune butter and 1 T of oil in place of the 1/3 cup of oil, and left out the sunflower seeds entirely since I don't like them. Even with these changes the muffins came out really moist and fluffy, and were very easy to eat and eat and eat. I did get quite of few of them, though. I made 18 regular sized muffins and 20 mini muffins, although that could have been because I added more to the batter (the carrot).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: PA_NUNN
Recipe needs some work. won't try again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: WILLOWSCHNELL
I have made this recipe twice, the second time I doubled it because the first ones went so fast! I made 21 muffins and a 9x13 cake. I plan to ice the cake with cream cheese icing. The only changes I made were to the spices. I left out the coriander and added more of the others, mostly cinnamon, but allspice and cloves as well. I also substituted the seeds for rasins (personal preference) and it worked really well. I'll definately be making this a LOT! Great recipe for zucchini, mostly because I have so many to use!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I cut this recipe down to twelve servings. I used hot brewed Tazo chai tea instead of plain water. I also used whole wheat flour, pecans instead of sunflower seeds (only because my family isn't big on sunflower seeds), I cut the salt down to a pinch and the sugar down to a half cup (we're really watching our salt/sugar intake) and I kept all the spices and vanilla to a teaspoon for the twelve muffins. After folding the wet ingredients into the dry, the mixture was still too dry. I needed to add another 3/4 cup of liquid to get it to combine and look like muffin batter. I did add 3/4 cup of lowfat buttermilk. The smell of these baking is really out of this world. All of us really enjoyed them, though mine did turn out a little dry. It could just be because I did cut the recipe back or maybe I baked them too long or overmixed them due to the not enough liquid. Still, a great muffin. I think next time, I might add a half cup of organic raisins in the shredded zucchini step. Keeping the spices high in this recipe really negated the need for extra fat or sugar. This is a really flavorful zucchini muffin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: NSROWE
I believe these would be much better without the sunflower seeds. Will try them without next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: happyliesl
Delicious, chopped up a small bag of mixed seed, nuts and fruit and added it to the muffin dough. Even my picky eater loved these muffins and said they are the best ever, and she got the sevret ingredient vegetables.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: luvcats8
SO GOOD. I made a healthier variety with 1 c white rice flour, 1 3/4 spelt flour and 1 tsp xanthan gum. Also reduced the sugar to 2/3c and they were plenty sweet. The spices override it all and they are a fabulous mix!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: In_Ontario
Wow, these taste great, I love the spices. I substituted 2 small spoonfuls of honey for the sugar - if you don't like overly sweet, the honey gives it just enough. I also used egg whites only. They turned out great, I recommend this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes