My Reviews (13)

Sauteed Summer Vegetables with Cheese

This side dish of sauteed zucchini, button squash, and corn, is a summer favourite. A topping of cheddar cheese adds a rich touch.
Reviews (13)


14 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Mama Red
I have made a similar dish for years, browning some hamburger and onion first, then adding frozen corn and fresh zucchini. I season it with salt & pepper as it cooks then top with the cheese. You can also scoop out a large zucchini, leaving the 'shell', chop it into small pieces and add the cooked hamburger, onion, and corn, mix it all together and put it in the zucchini 'boat' and bake for about 30 minutes on 350 in a 9x13 pan. Top with the shredded cheese and bake another 5 minutes. It also helps to slice a bit off the bottom of the zucchini so it sits flat in the pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Jeannie H.
This is very much like one of the recipes my grandmother showed me, but one thing different is that she would add 1/2 cut up red and orange bell peppers for a more colorful dish. And would add the salt and pepper in the begining instead of at the end. The cheese part is the same and would range from Chedder cheese to Colby-Jack cheese. Thanks for bringing back a great recipe to mind as well as the fond memories of grandma and me in the kitchen.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Lauren
This recipe was amazing! I loved the flavors together--and adding bell peppers to the recipe really gave it some extra color and flavor. I thought the prep time and the cooking time was a little off--but in all, the recipe tasted great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Mary Sundberg
This was very good! We are on diet so we skipped the cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: lbat
Absolutely wonderful. My family gave it 5 stars, too. I didn't change a thing except I omitted the cheese. I will be making this often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2011
Reviewed by: meshamesh
Its good, light and nutritious. I gave it 4 because the cheese takes away from the flavor. All in all, delicious
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: TruNorth
Absolutely delicious! I gave 4 out of 5 stars because the cook time was off. I ended up with too much liquid, but the corn, squash, and zucchini came directly out of the garden that morning, so I think the moisture content was higher than with store bought ingredients. Adding different types of squash (I used 3 types of patty-pan, round zucchini, and crookneck) gives some extra flavor and texture. I topped it with diced tomatoes and some fresh cilantro to add color. My sweetheart loved it, will defiantly make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: 3boysmama
This was yummy and cheesy and besides the chopping not too hard to throw together. We added a pound of hambuger to it to make it a complete meal and it was well recieved by the whole family. Good dish to use up those extra garden veggies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: jess
added bell peppers to the recipe. Very fresh tasting. Loved it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Susan
I loved this! I had a few changes...when I cut open my summer squash it didn't look too good, so I threw it out and replaced it with red and green bell peppers. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes