My Reviews (52)

Red Lentil Soup with Coconut

The unusual addition of coconut gives a sweet, interesting flavour and a bisque-like texture to this easy and quick vegan soup. You can substitute shredded coconut for freshly grated.
Reviews (52)


20 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: bsue
 
Comment:
20 Jun 2011
bsue said:
Used different ingredients. I used "lentils" rather than the more expensive "red lentils". The flavor was great! To me, soup should have more of a liquid content, but I did enjoy the cooked lentils with the seasoning!
 
28 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Marian
If I could give more than 5 stars, I would! This was incredible! However, as is always the case with me, I did make modifications. I only had 1 1/4 cups red lentils and I ended up using 1/4 cup regular lentils (as you can see in the picture I am submitting, the color of the soup was not uniform, but that was unimportant). I did add salt to the water when cooking the lentils and ended up adding probably close to 1 more cup of water. I used the suggested coconut milk and used Jamaican Curry Powder along with (as suggested) red pepper flakes, cumin, and cinnamon. I then prepared some Jasmine rice and steamed some broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots as that is what I had in the freezer. I spooned some veggies and some rice in a bowl and ladled the soup over top. This makes a lot of soup and I thought for sure we would have substantial leftovers, but my son ate 4 huge servings and he is only 12 years old! It was delicious and I could easily make it again and have it tonight. Be warned, however, that meat eaters may not find it substantial enough to their liking. I am a vegetarian and my husband is not and although he ate it, I do not think he will request it again any time soon. That's ok because there will be more for my son and I! Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: GoodKitty
YUM YUM! I made this, but used a total of 4c of water, and instead of the soy milk, I used a can of light coconut milk, and garnished with coconut....wow I thought I died and went to heaven. This will make a regular appearance in my lunchbox!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: MARY ANNNE T
Easy to make, very good taste. I used cow's milk and added veg bullion to the cooking water.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Maria Baldridge
I also tweaked this recipe quite a bit. I sauteed the onion and garlic and some chili pepper with the spices prior to adding the lentils and water. I also used coconut milk instead of the soy. Also - added a large can of diced tomatoes to make it heartier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Lacyeloo Winkelpleck
Delicious and EASY! After the changes I made, I would give it 5 stars for sure! I added quite a bit more ginger and curry powder, used coconut milk instead of soy (and more of it), added cumin and cinnamon, more salt, and cooked it with cashews. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2005
i added chicken and that was yummy, you can fiddle with this to your taste with out much danger...freezes great too
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Kinchan
3.5 stars. Very easy to make, actually tastes better after a few days when the flavours have had the opportunity to settle. I used coconut milk instead of the soy, and added shredded coconut and green peas. It was kind of lacking flavour, so I added red pepper flakes, cumin, and a pinch of cinnamon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2004
Reviewed by: SAHASRARALOTUS
I tried this recipe and thought it was fantastic! I cooked a double recipe and the whole thing disapeared! I substituted 2/3 of the soy milk to coconut milk as someone had suggested and it really added alot of flavour. Make sure to cook it long enough to soften it until it looks more like pulp then lentils. Some people described it as bland, but all it needs that the recipe doesn't call for is alot more salt! Try this and it will be much tastier! I will add this to my permanent repertoire.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes