My Reviews (720)

Sangria with Rum

An excellent version of the Spanish punch which uses rum instead of brandy. You can add any fruit that you want, but I find that apples and pears absorb all the rum. This one is not diluted with carbonated beverages.
Reviews (720)


01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: txgrl83
LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I threw a couples bridal shower and made this as my cocktail drink and everyone could not get enough of it ( even the guys!). Its perfect and would not change a thing. Everyone went home with the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: TMoore
I made this recipe for a tapas themed party with friends from college. I thought this was a killer sangria and enjoyed it thoroughly. My friends were overwhelmed by the rum -- fortunately, you can add rum to taste for your guests. Buy smaller oranges and other fruits to fit in the pitcher. This is a great recipe! I'll make it again for sure; so easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: RAYMONDSF
Made this for my girlfriends surprise party, everyone loved it and had seconds. Made a double batch and left it overnight and it was gone in no time. I'm definitely going to make this again. Blackcurrant Merlot and Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum is the way to go! I only put a 1/4 cup of sugar and that was sweet enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: SMALKA
Great!! Big hit at mexican-themed party we recently held. I think there were only about 6 of us drinking it, and we went through almost 3 batches! Went down nice and smooth, as long as it's cold!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: DOLFANCHICK1027
WAY GOOD!!! Apples worked just fine. Also works well with brandy instead of rum. I have made this several times with various fruits {the produce kind as well as my friends}and every time was awesome! Thanks! Erin
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: xayide
This was my first sangria making experience, and I'm glad I followed this recipe. I used spiced rum and Cab Sav. I messed up and added the wine and OJ with the booze and fruit (which turned out fine), and I let everything soak for 24 hours. This was less popular at my party than the White Peach Sangria also found on this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2011
Reviewed by: Leigh K
I used a very cheap bottle of Sangiovesse from Trader Joes and the cheapest white rum I could find. Following the recipe exactly....it's perfect. I think in the future I will put the sliced fruit, rum, sugar & OJ in a zipper bag and freeze, pop it into the ice chest along with a cheap bottle of wine and take camping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: hmork
watch out... this is strong stuff! maybe try less rum...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: RIGATONI28
I used Blackberry Merlot, Spiced Rum and added a little Triple Sec. I also added lots of fruit that I soaked in spiced rum and sugar for 24 hours. I made this in a punch bowl and used an "ice ring" made from sprite. It was a big hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: DSDINKEL
Super simple--any bottle of "cheap red wine" will work, and we loved it with Spiced Rum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes