My Reviews (720)

Sangria with Rum

An excellent version of the Spanish punch which uses rum instead of brandy. You can add any fruit that you want, but I find that apples and pears absorb all the rum. This one is not diluted with carbonated beverages.
Reviews (720)


11 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Chris
I let the fruit soak in the rum and an added 1/2 cup of Triple Sec. I made this with a Merlot (Little Penguin) and with a Blackberry Merlot. It was a lot sneakier when it was made with the Blackberry Merlot, i.e. we got drunk, but it hit us from out of no where. When it was made with the Little Penguin Merlot, it was a little too alcoholic. I solved this by having friends who are alcoholics and don't mind.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: JENNY9536
I made this for a cookout for my husband's medical school class, and it was a big hit. I used a box of cheap red wine (5 liters for $10.00)and as was suggested, I used spiced rum. I also added lots of other fruit, including apples, pears and cherries, which was really pretty in the glass pitchers. I did have to keep a close eye on the fruit soaking in the rum and sugar that was in the refridgerator, because every time I went to make more sangria, I had to fight off people eating the fruit. I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: JANINE PERKINS
OH MY!! This was fabulous! I used the spiced rum and along with the citrus I added some plum slices. If you desire a less potent Sangria cut the rum in half. The flavor is still wonderful. Freeze orange juice in ice cube trays and add a cube to each individual serving. YUM
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: LINDSEY008
I just got back from Seville and this was so close to the real thing...Two glasses will have you GOOD for the rest of the night. Start out with less rum-- you can always add more later.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2003
Reviewed by: MONTANA1124
This was my first attempt at Sangria. I took the advice of others and used Blackberry Merlot, as well as spiced rum. I topped each serving with Sprite, and it was fantastic! When the Sangria was gone, I filled the pitcher with the remaining Sprite, so it could "soak up" the juices left in the fruit. It was a more "mellow" drink, which was needed after finishing the pitcher of Sangria. Thanks so much for this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Souix Chef
I read the reviews and went with the Blackberry Merlot and cut the white sugar in half. I made a triple batch, but only used a fifth of Bacardi white rum. I also soaked the fruit for 2 days, turning it twice a day to make sure it all got nice and soaked. Nectarines, Lemons, Limes, Apples, Oranges, Strawberries were what I used. Next time, much more strawberries and maybe 1 lemon and more oranges. I thougt of using Orange flavored rum and cut out all the white sugar, but thought I should just change one thing at a time. Wonderful, the fruit and drink was gone in no time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2003
Reviewed by: JILLJAMESON
This was very good as well, but I changed the recipe a bit. I used a 1.5 liter bottle of wine, 2 cups of rum, 1 cup of sugar, and 2 cups of OJ. My grandma even went wild over it. I also soaked strawberrys, pineapple, and marschino cherries in equal amounts of OJ and Rum overnight and that was very, very good as well. I did not add the fruit to the sangria, I put it in a seperate bowl so people could pick out what they wanted. It worked out well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: LAK48
This is a fabulous recipe!! I have shared with many friends. It was easy to make, and everyone enjoyed it. Careful though. It tastes like fruit juice, but you feel the effects of the alcohol later. Great to make for large parties.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: IRISHRPH
Made a double batch for my husband's 50th birthday party and didn't have a drop left. Used spiced rum and made ice rings from fruit and Sprite (so they wouldn't dilute it). Fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: AndiCat798
This tasted great! I've never had Sangria but my "Sangria expert" guest said it was perfect. I doubled the recipe for a party of 12 and put it in a punch bowl and it made for a great presentation. Tasted very nice and looked good. Just make sure you stir it whenever you are walking by after mixing all the ingredients to dissolve all the sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes