My Reviews (45)

Wasabi Tuna and Quinoa Salad

An quick and easy tuna and quinoa salad with celery, onion and wasabi. Makes a great lunch or light summer dinner. It is good for people with wheat or gluten allergies.
Reviews (45)


12 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: megzu
 
09 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Ann B
Great idea, Thank you! - It never occurred to me to mix Quinoa with Tuna. Also- make sure to rinse the Quinoa a few times before cooking to ensure there is no bitter taste. It has to do with a protective coating/residue called saponin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2010
Reviewed by: joldoak
This is a great recipe to play with. I changed out several ingredients, except for the tuna, quinoa, lemon juice and mayonnaise. I didn't have any wasabi powder so I added grape tomatoes, shredded apple and carrots. I didn't have celery either so I used some celery seed, which was tasty. Then the best addition, I chopped a small handful of walnuts and threw that in. It all tasted wonderful together! I find that quinoa is becoming a staple in my kitchen and this is one more recipe I will add to my list.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Emily Tisdale
Awesome, delicious, imaginative, different, flavorful...the list of adjectives goes on. This is truly a great tuna salad recipe. I cooked the quinoa traditionally, boiling vs. microwave. Because hubby and I like bold flavor, doubled the wasabi and upped the lemon a little. Absolutely incredible...makes me want to play with chicken salad with a dash of wasabi...etc. Many kudos and thanks!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: shelteredrose
HATE Wisabi...that aside this was an awsome idea. I added a few shakes or cayene pepper, doubled the onion and celery, added 1/2 c shredded carrot. Left the Mayo the same, but used the juice from a whole lemon from my tree (would be awsome with lime too) Used this to stuff low cal pita halves for lunch. With the extra veg I get a bit healthier meal and stretch this to 3 or 4 servings rather than just 2.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Nicole Burdett
This was awesome... tastes like a great pasta salad, but healthier!! I didn't change a thing and don't think it needs anything more or less. I always use the olive oil mayo, as it is fairly low in fat, but still has a good mayonnaise taste. Thanks, Caron. I never would have thought to put this together!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2010
OMG, this was so good. Didn't have Wasabi powder, no celery and can't eat onions, but I sauted julienned zucchini and chopped carrot, adding in onion powder and the other ingredients. Served it hot, not cold. Wow! Was soooo good and filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: feliciasmomma
I thought this was a delicious recipe. I used double the tuna and a little more mayo to moisten. Plus I added some dill weed, which I always use for tuna salad. It was fabulous and tasted just as good, if not better, after a couple of days. I used stuffed in a pita with sprouts and diced tomatoes. Yummy and very filling!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: lwruckles
I followed the recipe exactly as written. Something about this just doesn't work - it might be the combination of lemon juice and the wasabi powder? It was a little better after sitting overnight, but still tasted like something a very inexperienced cook might concoct with whatever is on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: MMMICHELLE
I enjoyed this very much. It was very easy to make and the flavors were very yummy! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes