My Reviews (77)

Microwave Spinach with Butter and Lemon

Lemon and garlic provide the flavour for this steamed spinach in this quick and simple microwave recipe.
Reviews (77)


22 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: gapch1026
The lemon and butter flavor is a nice compliment to the spinach. I simply sauteed the spinach in a skillet with the butter (I used a little olive oil too) and garlic and then finished with a splash of lemon juice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
I always saute spinach but this microwave cooking method interested me for its ease of preparation. I was very disappointed in the results. The cooking time as well as the method is insufficient to cook the garlic, leaving the strong, raw taste of it. Also, microwaving did not allow the juices released from the spinach as it wilted to evaporate. It was a fun try, but I'll continue to give spinach and garlic a quick saute.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: SLJ6
Delicious.....I omitted the butter and used olive oil instead. Loved the freshness of the lemon juice and I added a little red pepper flakes for some heat. Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Dianne
We really enjoyed this spinach. I cooked mine on the stovetop in a skillet. I simmered the garlic in 2 Tbsp. lemon juice, 2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, 2 Tbsp. olive oil, and a pinch of kosher salt and some fresh ground black pepper. Then I added the spinach and cooked until it was just wilted. Easy and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: mcqueenbee
Wow! What a delicious spinach recipe! Nice & light. I followed the recipe exactly, would not change a thing
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
I took a short cut with this - used a steam in microwave bag of spinach (14 oz.) Why go to all that trouble? Did not use that much butter - I just added lemon juice, a little lite butter, minced garlic, salt and pepper to taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2009
Reviewed by: Allie
Not good I was so excited because it looked so easy and I love all the ingredients. I ended up having to put it in a frying pan and saute it for 7 minutes to make it edible.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2009
Excellent and very easy. I would have never microwaved spinach before now. It came out pleasantly "par" wilted. I will cut the lemon in half next time as it was a little to tart for 2 out of 4. Perfect recipe if you have conflicting spinach consistency views. I like fresh and raw my husband likes cooked down and sauteed. It was a cross between both and a great middle ground.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2008
Reviewed by: MotherLodeViv
I microwaved on high for 3 mins to get it perfectly between too under-done and too wilted. Used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter. I also listened to another reviewer and added some red pepper flakes. It was great, and I will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Reesa Moorman
This has to be the easiest thing I've ever made. Only thing was I did have to nuke it for two minutes longer, but then it was wonderful! It's a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes