My Reviews (45)

Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Soup

Butternut pumpkin and sweet potatoes blended with ginger and garlic make this creamy soup. Chicken or vegetable stock may be substituted for the water and use any pumpkin you wish.
Reviews (45)


18 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: litgirl24
Delicious!!! First, I sauteed a peeled, chopped Fuji apple and 1 stalk chopped green onion in 1 TB butter for 10 minutes. Then, I added a 1.4 lb butternut squash and 1/2 a chopped large sweet potato, an inch of chopped, peeled ginger, and 1 and 1/2 cloves chopped garlic and filled the pot up mostly with water to cover the vegetables (maybe about a 1/2 inch higher than the veggies), and about 1/4 cup of organic chicken stock. I let this simmer for 30 minutes, and then added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon (as per other reviewers' suggestions) and a pinch of nutmeg. Then, I pureed it in the blender. It was so creamy and delicious (and sweet from the Fuji apple) that I didn't need to add cream or yogurt. I seasoned it with salt and pepper. Absolutely divine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: kiplee
Having the benefit of all those who wrote before me, I made a few tweaks. The end result was DELICIOUS! 1. Chop: 1 peeled and cored apple (I used Granny Smith because it's all I had); 2 celery stalks; 2 peeled carrots; 1/2 medium onion; 3 inches of peeled ginger. Saute all of the above with 1 heaping Tablespoon minced garlic in 2 T butter (or oil) for about 10 minutes, or until soft. Set aside. 2. Put chunked sweet potatoes (or yams) and butternut squash in a large pan with about 2 1/4 c water and 2 1/4 c. chicken broth. (I used 2 cans of the chicken broth, and a little more than that of water--whatever it takes to cover the tops of the vegetables.) 3. Once everything comes to a boil, add the sauteed mixture from before and let simmer until everything is pretty soft. 4. I added 1 t. of cinnamon and about 1/2 t. of nutmeg, 1 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1 t. of pepper BEFORE blending/pureeing it. It saved me a step, and it came out great. It doesn't really need yogurt, in my opinion, but I added a dollop of light sour cream before serving, making it a little creamier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Pam
I agree with the other reviews, this is real good but something was missing. I was trying to do a vegan thing so I left out the yogurt and added curry. It was great! I also added a touch on cinnamon but don’t think it is necessary after the curry. I also froze single servings and they heated up nicely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: joey
Great recipe! I followed the advice of other reviewers and fried my onion and garlic in a bit of butter in the pot before adding the veggies and broth. I roasted my squash in the oven at 400 degrees until slightly soft...it made peeling and cubing much easier. I added 1/4 cup homemade unsweetened applesauce and lots of extra fresh ginger. I served the soup with a dollop of plain yogurt in the centre of each bowl. Perfect winter soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: tituse
Love it. Easy to make. Used pickled ginger leftover from sushi, instead of fresh. Added curry powder & red pepper flakes for a bit more intense flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: cfdickin
This soup is delicious. I used vegetable stock instead of water, and I did not add yogurt as suggested in the recipe (just pureed the veges once cooked). It was fantastic. My husband also loved it and he doesn't even like sweet potatoes. I highly recommend this one,very easy to make and very tasty in the chilly weather!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: miriyummy
I made a number of modifications, but this was very good. I had searched for a sweet potato bisque recipe and found this one. I did not have any butternut squash, so I just used 5 sweet potatoes. (In retrospect, the flavor would have been far too mild if I had followed the recipe and used squash plus 4 sweet potatoes.) Based on suggestions of other reviewers, I sautéed the onion, garlic, and ginger first, added a diced apple and some diced celery, and used vegetable broth in addition to water. Instead of adding yogurt, I blended in some silken tofu. The resulting soup was pretty good, but following the recommendation of at least one reviewer, I then tried adding some curry -- that really enhanced the flavor. My husband is a picky soup eater and, although he wasn't thrilled with this before I added the curry, he complimented it TWICE after he ate it with the curry. Next time I make this recipe, I will use more fresh garlic and ginger (especially ginger).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Queenie
I loved this. But I like spicy hot soup so I added a seeded and diced jalapeno to the puree. I would also recommend using chicken broth as some others suggested. Might also try cayenne pepper if you like spicy soup too. A Winter Winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: chocoluvs
ok, could taste the yogurt too much, not the squash or sweet potato.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Johanne
I have made this a few times now, and it's by far my favorite soup. I followed the recipe exactly, except that one day I also added some curry spiced chicken sausage that I got at the local farmers markets, and it was a great addition.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes