My Reviews (132)

Ham Cheese and Potato Frittata

A simple ham, cheese and potato frittata. This is a great alternative to a traditional omelette and makes a great weekend brunch dish.
Reviews (132)


29 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: JESSMESSEN
This was a very good recipe. I had to impravise when it came to the cast iron skillet.. I used a regular skillet and then flipped the ingredients into a pie dish added the cheese and baked about 15-20 minutes at 325 degress. It was a hit with everyone! I have had weight loss surgery and some foods are hard for me to eat this sat very well with me... The only thing I would do different is make the CUBE size of the potatoes SMALL... I did mine med to large because the recipe did not really say! Next time instead of ham I think I might try adding Carne Adavoda (pork cooked in red chili)! Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Mallinda
After reading the other reviews I decided to use only two potatoes and add some cooked broccoli. I also made sure to add plenty of pepper so it wouldn't be too bland, and I used sharp Cheddar cheese. I was very pleased with how it turned out. I slid it out of the frying pan onto a round pizza pan and cut it with a pizza cutter. It was easy enough to make, tasted very good, and since there are only two of us, there's enough left for tomorrow. I would make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
This was ok but very bland. I tried to liven it up a bit with 1/2 a green pepper and some garlic powder but it did not really help. I would rather eat eggs, ham and potatoes seperatley. I thought the cooking time was not enough. I had to lengthen it but since pan size was not specified in the recipe that could make the difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: maxwellhd
This is a GREAT "base" frittata using a cast iron skillet...the way it should be done! It very quickly became our "go to" for Sunday morning brunch after we get home from church. We have done this recipe many, many times, trying different combinations of ingredients. We've found that the cooking times are very accurate, but we make sure to test it, not trust it, when pulling it out of the oven. Prep time takes a little bit longer. End to end, it takes us about 45 minutes. This last time we made it was the best...first we cooked Jimmy Dean ground sausage in the skillet. No oil. When cooked, used a slotted spoon to take it out and leave behind the grease. We used the grease instead of the oil, which actually caused the onions to caramelize on the bottom...woah, was that amazing!! We slice the potatoes to cook and then lay them on top of the onions after they have been sautéed. Threw the sausage on top of the potatoes, then poured the eggs on top. Literally - 5 minutes on the stove...no more. Add sliced tomatoes on top before popping them in the oven for everything to finish cooking. Fabulous!! Thank you, Jody!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Leanne
Used this as a base recipe. Used 4 egg whites, 4 eggs, turkey bacon, garlic, parsley,mushrooms,green onion, spices, cheddar cheese, 5 potatoes. Really tasty, easy and good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I must be out of my mind. I have absolutely no reason to cook tonight as I have leftovers from yesterday's party and the kids are sleeping at friends. However, after over indulging yesterday, I figured that hubby would like something light for dinner and this seemed to hit the spot for him. I added halved grape tomatos and my usual garlic and onion powders. Thank you Jody!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Robina
very good-i found that adding some worchestershire sauce to the eggs helped bring out the flavours.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Caroline C
I made a frittata once before using shredded potato, and it was a disaster. This turned out much better! I used sliced sandwich ham (it needed using up) and I also added some more seasoning. It was pretty tasty. Thanks, Jody!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2003
Reviewed by: TRAVELIN GAL
When sauting the onions, I added some fresh chopped broccoli and some chopped green bell peppers. Very good, easy to make and ohhhh so delicious. Will repeat this for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: VEARG
We enjoyed this recipe very much. We used two large potatoes, monterey jack cheese, bacon, and sausage. Next time we will use more onion and less potatoe. Salt and pepper made it taste great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes