My Reviews (66)

Cholay - Chickpea Curry

This is a fragrant and flavourful recipe from North India, usually eaten with fried bread like bhatura or puri. I like to serve it with rice for a filling vegetarian meal.
Reviews (66)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ling-ling said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Excellent recipe. It took me two tries to get it just right though. I adjusted some items the second time I made it as follows. First, I reduced the amount of Chickpeas to one can while keeping the other amounts the same. I personally like this ratio better, and it left lots of extra gravy for rice or naan. Next, I used a high quality, rich black tea to heat the chickpeas. Third, it definitely needs the salt added. Don't underestimate this. Last I added a fair amount of cayenne to make it nice and spicy (again my preference).
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
KELLYANNE68 said:
Used different ingredients. It's actually a fairly easy recipe that doesn't take nearly as much preparation time as suggested, especially if you use canned tomatoes. In addition, while it is mild in flavour this is a recipe that is easy to alter to your own taste. For a thicker, more curry-like and spicier sauce, just add some sour cream/nonfat plain yoghurt, curry, and red capsicum to taste. (Probably heavy cream could be used too.) Extra tumeric will give it that yellow colour. Highly recommended, especially if you like chickpeas. Use it as a base or enjoy experimenting. Either way, it is delicious.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
VEGGIELUVA said:
Used different ingredients. I tasted it while it was still in the pan (during that last five minutes of cooking) and I was pretty disappointed in the flavour. So then I added another round of spices, including cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp. garam masala, 1/8 tsp. curry powder, and 1/8 tsp. garlic salt. I let it cook for another ten minutes so that all the chickpeas were soft. I served it on top of brown rice and it is delicious. Instead of a tea bag I used some loose Indian-spiced rooibos. I would definitely make this again, I will just be sure to double the spices.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: John
Bland. I even tried adding more spices at the end, and again when reheating, and that helped a little but not enough. Perhaps it's that most of the spices only get added to the onions; the tomatoes get them indirectly and the chickpeas only get added to the spiced mixture near the very end. It's probably that, combined with the tomatoes mellowing out the dish too much.
The "Chickpea Curry" recipe on this site is better (and easier).
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JORGINE
Good start but a tad bland for may taste. Perhaps some curry paste or doubling the spice quantities. As others have mentioned, this is a rather involved recipe that requires numerous bowls, pans and pots. If you don't have a dishwasher or teenage kids, pass on this recipe.
 
03 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: KirbyF
The best Cholay/Chana Masala recipie... as long as a couple of adjustments are made. 1. One can of chickpeas per batch 2. Use a strong robust black tea (Find a local Indian store and ask the clerk what their best tea is. For me it was Red Label orange pekoe) 3. Use a good amount of tea (about 1/8 cup per batch) 4. Don't split the beans in half, just dump the whole can in your tea-water 5. Boil down the tea water to about half, and throw everything else into this pot. (it helps to start the tea-water/chickpea process in a medium-large saucepan) One interesting variation is to add about 1/2c plain yogurt towards the end, this will add a little tangy, and give you more gravy to mix with your rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: traveler_mike
Excellent recipe. It took me two tries to get it just right though. I adjusted some items the second time I made it as follows. First, I reduced the amount of Chickpeas to one can while keeping the other amounts the same. I personally like this ratio better, and it left lots of extra gravy for rice or naan. Next, I used a high quality, rich black tea to heat the chickpeas. Third, it definitely needs the salt added. Don't underestimate this. Last I added a fair amount of cayenne to make it nice and spicy (again my preference).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Mark P
Bland. I even tried adding more spices at the end, and again when reheating, and that helped a little but not enough. Perhaps it's that most of the spices only get added to the onions; the tomatoes get them indirectly and the chickpeas only get added to the spiced mixture near the very end. It's probably that, combined with the tomatoes mellowing out the dish too much.
The "Chickpea Curry" recipe on this site is better (and easier).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: AgnesPterry
It's actually a fairly easy recipe that doesn't take nearly as much preparation time as suggested, especially if you use canned tomatoes. In addition, while it is mild in flavor this is a recipe that is easy to alter to your own taste. For a thicker, more curry-like and spicier sauce, just add some sour cream/nonfat plain yogurt, curry, and red pepper to taste. (Probably heavy cream could be used too.) Extra tumeric will give it that yellow color. Highly recommended, especially if you like garbonzo/chickpeas. Use it as a base or enjoy experimenting. Either way, it is delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: JILLITH
I tasted it while it was still in the pan (during that last five minutes of cooking) and I was pretty disappointed in the flavor. So then I added another round of spices, including cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp. garam masala, 1/8 tsp. curry powder, and 1/8 tsp. garlic salt. I let it cook for another ten minutes so that all the chickpeas were soft. I served it on top of brown rice and it is delicious. Instead of a tea bag I used some loose Indian-spiced rooibos. I would definitely make this again, I will just be sure to double the spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes