My Reviews (86)

Chimichurri Steak Sauce

Chimichurri is a marinade and sauce that hails from Argentina. It's excellent on steaks, and best used immediately.
Reviews (86)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
MONMOM said:
Used different ingredients. This is a fantastic marinade. I changed this recipe, as I did not have parsley or lemon on hand. I substituted coriander for the parsley and lime juice for the lemon. FANTASTIC. I know this gives a whole different flavour than the original, but try it. It's pure heaven! We marinated the steak, then barbecued it, using the leftover marinade as a mop. YUM!
 
03 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: chunky
I love the fresh taste of chimichurri. I made this recipe for my wife and her parents and they loved it. My mother in law now buys a bottled chimichurri called Chimi from the internet. Great sauce!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: JMCGEHEAN
Piquant and full of garlicky flavour. I would eat this delicious sauce drizzled over any meat, or over rice and beans.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: samsb2000
Thanks for the recipe, but here's a word to the wise: for cooking dummies like myself, be sure not to blend this mixture for more than a second if you have a powerful blender, because mine ended up looking like soup. Better yet, chop the parsley by hand.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Carol Wood
From now on, everything I eat will have a dab of this chimichurri sauce on it. Even ice cream. No, seriously. I just had it on prawns. Just now. Sorry - none left for you. But it was oh my god good. Make some and you'll see what I'm talking about.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: mowings
This sauce was excellent! I am a vegetarian and ate it as a salad dressing at a barbecue and poured over bbq tofu. I plan to make this soon!
 
09 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Nickers
As a fellow Latin member I would like to explain a little bit this recipe. This marinate is meant to be very powerful. It is meant to enhance the flavor of the meat by giving it a little kick. It is not however meant to overwhelm it. Some people make the mistake of putting to much on or flooding a stake with it. This will certainly leave you with sometimes tears in your eyes or having a garlic breath that will not go away for days. In my opinion, one should slightly dip the meat in it or put a very light layer of the marinade on top of the steak. this way you taste the meat while you taste the marinade. For those people that think that the marinade taste a little bland, use very very fresh ingredients only, and if you want it to kick even more than it already does, you can add some leaves of fresh cilantro and/or cilantrillo (sorry i don't know the english word for it). Another tip is to cut the ingredients very fine by hand or you can use a blender but the lowest power. The appearance should not be like a mulch. One should be able to see all the ingredients (very small of course)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: COOKYKAMP
This is a fantastic marinade for skirt steak, which should be marinaded, as it tends to be tough. I changed this recipe, as I did not have parsley or lemon on hand. I substituted cilantro for the parsley and lime juice for the lemon. FANTASTIC. I know this gives a whole different flavor than the original, but try it. It's pure heaven! We marinaded the steak, then grilled it, using the leftover marinade as a mop. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Apple Jacks
Thanks for the recipe, Ty, but here's a word to the wise: for cooking dummies like myself, be sure not to blend this mixture for more than a second if you have a powerful blender, because mine ended up looking like split-pea soup. Better yet, chop the parsley by hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: MARYANNEQ
Very nice! I threw it in a large meauring cup and used my hand blender. Came out nice. If you're not a fan of fresh/raw garlic - cute down the cloves to 3 - otherwise this sauce is fantastic. I marinated a steak in some and used the "raw" sauce over it after cooking. Whatever was leftover I threw raw shrimp in to "marinate" then threw it all in a pan the next day to sautee, diluted it with a bit of water and served it over linguine. Definitely a do over for us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes