My Reviews (25)

Almond Chicken Rice

A Mediterranean style chicken and rice dish. The chicken is first boiled with vegetables and cinnamon, simmered with the rice and served with almonds and pine nuts.
Reviews (25)


07 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Yummum
SOOO good. About half way through dinner, my 4 year old asked whether we can have this again. I made a few changes: I sauted the onion in a bit of oil first and then added chicken breasts, carrots and broth. When it came time to fry the chicken and carrots for 2 mins, I did it in about a teaspoon of oil instead of one and a quarter cups. (I used a slotted spoon to get most of the chicken and carrots out, fried them and then put them back into the pot with the broth.) I layered the rice and seasoning mixture on top of that. I also added about a cup of frozen peas, and they worked really well with the recipe. I toasted the almonds in the toaster oven instead of in the oil. My modifications did change the overall presentation (more "mixed" chicken and rice than "upside down") but I cut almost 2 cups of oil from the recipe. And it was still really really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Rachel H
The ratio of rice to liquid is way off. Even though I knew better, I went ahead and followed the recipe using 4 cups of rice. After 30 min. the rice wasn't even close to being done. I added several cups of chicken stock, another onion, 1 cup of chopped celery and more cinnamon to fix it. I had an enormous pot of chicken and rice to deal with. It actually tasted good, so next time I will use 2 and 1/2 cups of rice instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Meme
My parents are from the Middle East so I grew up with this food as a regular. But we make it with eggplants and potatoes that are halfway fried before put with the rice. Yummy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: reem
yum yum i made this recipe and it is great the rice is tasty with chicken and carrots i added some more nuts on the top and it was delicious my family loved it thank you rose90
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: FROSTY
the best recipe i have use
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Dana P
My husband really liked the cinnamon in this recipe, much to my surprise. The nuts are a great part of it, too. This is a recipe I'll definitely use often - easy for weeknights. I read the reviews and mostly followed the recipe. I used 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts - the whole chicken parts with bones in would probably add flavor and have made it a bit better. I boiled the chicken, carrots and onion in 4 cups chicken broth then reused the broth for cooking the rice. I sauteed the chicken and carrots in a few tablespoons of olive oil before adding the rice, and I only added 2 1/2 cups rice after reading other reviews. This required 5 cups of liquid but I only had 4 cups of broth reserved after boiling the chicken so I added 1 cup of water to the rice mixture. Next time I'll only use 2 cups of rice so I can use the 4 cups of broth and make it more flavorful. I also like the idea of adding raisins and will try that in the future.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: rachelle
This is the best recipe i have ever tried .I added green pepper coliflower, and egg plant.i decided to steam the chicken instead of boiling it and it was grate
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2008
Reviewed by: bljohns6
Very good, simple, and classic recipe. Its not a 'wow' recipe but it is good for some decent chicken and rice that will please everyone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: PASA1
very very good dinner, it was really really good. Yum thanx
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Heather Ruppe
I made this awhile ago, and changed a few things, I used ground cinnamon, not sticks and used chicken breast. We also thought it would be really good cooked with rasains, but it was an afterthought, and we didn't have any on hand. This recipe was VERY good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes