My Reviews (59)

Streusel Apple Cake

This is a traditional Ukrainian Apple Cake known as 'Yabluchnyk'. It is a delicious cake which is easy to prepare.
Reviews (59)


Comment:
23 May 2011
ladyjoanella said:
Something else. this looks delicous. will make it and write a review. Note. Step 3 in the Preparation Method should be Step 7....
 
07 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Stephanie R.
I just made this... it was simple and delicious! However, I don't really recommend eating it while it's warm as the cake flavor is almost overpowering while still hot out of the oven. And don't skimp on the apples or the topping even though they may seem like a lot--the balance is perfect! I also uploaded a photo of mine--hopefully it will display soon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2009
Reviewed by: TheBaker
I made four of these for my son's school project on Russia. I sampled the cake immediately after baking it and was not impressed. It was dry, not very flavorful and hard to cut through the apples. Fortunately, however, there was way too much food brought in to school, so my son brought home some leftovers. Let me just say, this cake definitely improves with age!!!! On day 2, the cake was so moist and flavorful, and the apples softened nicely which made for easier cutting. Yummmmm!!!! I think I've gained 5 pounds. If you're looking for a simple dessert, that's not overly sweet and has a nice presentation, try this one. I followed the recipe exactly, using a mix of Granny Smith and Jonagold apples. I baked two cakes for 35 minutes and the other two a little longer. Next time I'll stick with 35 minutes. They were just right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: ThreeDs
Thank you for sharing this. A dear old Ukrainian friend, now departed, made this type cake using fuits as they came from trees plums peaars etc. It is delicious on hot summer evening with some ice cream, cream or just as is. Very simple yet delicious result and a nice summer dessert when you dont feel like being in kitchen all day. Enjoy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: krista v.
Yes!! Delicious! This recipe is very similar to a German apple cake my mom used to make when I was a kid. Only this one is better because of the streusel topping. I didn't change a thing other than using rice milk and a blob of sour cream instead of the cream (whey allergy). Talk about easy! I love recipes that can be mixed up quickly, tossed in the oven and ready in less than an hour. I did have to bake it for an extra 15 mins but I think my oven is a bit off. I used Jonamac apples and they came out tart and juicy and did not get mushy at all. I'd love to try different types of apples such as Granny Smith, Cortland or Honeycrisp. Next time I might make a double layer of apples just because I love apple desserts so why not pack as many apples in there as possible? The cake part is not very sweet but I love that because the topping and apples balance out the sweetness. Some fruit desserts are too sugary and sticky but this one is perfect. Clean, simple flavor that will surely be a dessert I will make again and again. I'd love to try pears or peaches next time. You must make this cake, you will love it!!! Thank-you so much for posting the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: howdyalikedemapples
Oh YUM! Really lovely- the bottom cake layer reminded me of a sugar donut, and the top was really delicious. I made it in an 8" x 8" pan and had to bake it an extra 15 minutes because it was thicker, but it worked perfectly. Thanks for the great recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: jordankids
This is absolutely wonderful apple cake. My husband and kids loved it. I made the recipe exactly as written. The only thing I did differently was baked it in a springform pan. Next time I think I will try a layer of caramel between the cake layer and apple layer. This is definately a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Allyson
I recently made this for a Ukranian Christmas party I was invited too, and it was a big hit! I used mostly all purpose flour with some whole wheat and milk instead of cream, and it worked really well! I was so scared because when everthing was mixed the batter seemed really wet, but it baked thru really well. Thanks so much Olga!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Anthea
This cake is absolutely wonderful! It has been a favorite of mine. I could eat it all day cause it isn't too sweet. I only added a hint more cinnamon to the topping. Definitely going to make this again! I really like the struesel topping so I'll probably add more of it next time. So if youre looking for something not too sweet to indulge yourself in, try this cake
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: witchywoman
This was a very good, very rich recipe. I am really amazed at how little work it takes to actually make this. I made it with Red Delicious apples but I think the next time I make it, I'll use granny smith. Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes