My Reviews (64)

Creamy Tuna and Rice Bake

Unlike most tuna bakes that use pasta this one uses rice. It has a unique puffy and light quality with subtle flavours.
Reviews (64)


04 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: SnowMilne-Hearne
This recipe is so easy to make and it has an awesome flavour. The first time I made it I forgot to put the lemon in it and still tasted beautiful. The second time I changed it a little and put some cooked mushrooms in the mixture and a little grated mozzarella cheese on top and then actually putting some slices of fresh lemon on the top of the cheese. Very nice zest to it. Quick to make and if cooking for 4 people I do make double. I think this recipe would be lovely with a hint of chilli through it as well. I keep any left over of the recipe mix and put in the very small size voulevants, which is also lovely with a tiny bit of lemon zest to decorate the top.
 
13 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: jerak
Absolutely fantastic! I was pleasant surprised by this casserole. The only thing I changed was to add 1 garlic clove, crushed and grated and also grated a carrot and added some parsley. Very good flavor and fairly easy recipe to follow. Will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Julie
I really enjoyed this twist on a tuna casserole recipe. Being gluten sensitive, I mixed cornstarch with some of the milk and stirred it into the melting butter instead of making a flour paste. This worked quite well. I also added garlic and basil to add flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah
This was pretty good. It came out a little dry, so next time I'll make sure the gravy is thinned out a bit. I used less rice (1/2 cup before cooking) and two 7oz cans of tuna. I sprinkled a little garlic powder and garlic salt in the gravy, and topped the casserole with parsley. This is very similar to tuna casserole. I might add peas and a little cheese to the mix next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: blossomfriend
This was sweet for my college budget. Didn't have any onion, but the recipe was still flavorful especially with a little bit of Parmesan cheese and Frank's Red Hot on top! (put that s**t on everything)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: apainter0703
Surprisingly delicious! I have made this twice now! My husband loves it and so do I! I don't really like the taste of canned tuna, and didn't want to make a traditional casserole. This fit the bill! This recipe is now a standard!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: mimisbest
No your eyes deceiving you!! It does look like there are green beans in the dish. had to do a double take. I think the bowl is a dark green glasss and that is what viewers are seeing. Doesn't make it look as good as it is. The recipe is delicious and simple. I would add some things like cheese or other items that viewers mentioned.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Natalie
Delicious! Simple (And cheap!) to make, my family of 4 loved it, although next time I will double ingredients. Added mixed veggies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: MissAngela
good, but next time i'm doubling the rice at least to feed everyone. Also think i might try some dill....very tasty
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: ksujessi19
I used brown rice instead of white. I also used onion powder instead of grated onion. I like the idea of the recipe, but next time I think I will saute yellow onion and add that. Also, I think some low fat cheddar mixed in would do a lot for this. Over all, loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes