My Reviews (120)

Chicken Fried Rice with Thai Basil

This is a great use for left over rice. It is a staple dish in the Thai diet. Adjust the spices to your own tastes.
Reviews (120)


06 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Goody2shz
This was really delicious. I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried. I also used one tiny Thai bird chili pepper instead of the serrano peppers and it was plenty spicy for us. I also used ground turkey instead of chicken. Came out exceptionally good! The oyster sauce and fish sauce really make it, and the cilantro as a finishing touch was sublime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: ragina filange
My family loved this recipe! I could not find sweet Thai basil so I just used the Italian kind. Also I will use less oil next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Eblueiz11
Excellent! Took another reviewers advice and added 2 T of soy sauce and added extra chili peppers - we like it hot. Will make again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: JRose
Delicious and quick! So easy, even my husband (who hates to cook) can make it, and so flexible that we can use basically any little bits of meat and veggies leftover in the fridge to fill it out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: dmd
Brilliant - quick - Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Siobhan
My family loved this!!! And we are pretty harsh food critics.....I did modify as a few of the reviewers suggested. I added two Tablspn of soy sauce and added the sauce to the wok before the meat. I used the Thai chili peppers instead of the serrano and I did half chicken and half shrimp. I will use a little less oil next time. It seemed a tad much. Also, hunan chili sauce is a great addition if you want to add more spice....but careful, chili sauce is hot so add a very small amount to start!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Saveur
We loved, loved, loved this recipe. Such a fresh and flavorful dish. I made exactly as written with just a couple of exceptions...I started by boiling my jasmine rice in a tomato/chicken broth, and I added fresh tomato slices and tons of fresh basil and cilantro to the dish. This was as good, if not better, than anything I've had in a Thai restaurant. Next time I might add a little spicy ground pork, too. Sincere thanks for sharing this recipe with us, Erin, I'll use it often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: dailyn
This recipe is awesome. the only changes that I made was that instead of regular onion I make it with green onions. I have made this recipe at least five times now. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: traconl4
yumm! super easy too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Vanners
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! We add some fish sauce to our cooking water for our rice (we use a rice cooker) and it adds A LOT of flavor to the rice when you fry it. And, make sure your rice is chilled or else it turns out mushy, but still VERY TASTY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes