My Reviews (120)

Chicken Fried Rice with Thai Basil

This is a great use for left over rice. It is a staple dish in the Thai diet. Adjust the spices to your own tastes.
Reviews (120)


22 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Carey
I am a connoisseur of Thai Basil Chicken dishes, and this recipe is my favorite with a few modifications. I added 2 tblsp soy sauce to the oil/pepper/garlic after frying a bit. You should also add the fish/oyster sauce at this point before adding the other ingredients or it won't absorb evenly into the food - you'll probably get some bites that taste fishy. I also halved the oyster and fish sauce since the smell was...well..terrifying. With that amount it added perfectly to the flavor but wasn't a noticeable/dominant taste at all (no one would know it is in there). It's important to use fresh garlic. I also prefer to chop the chicken after slicing (or use ground chicken) so it absorbs more of the flavor. The hardest thing about this recipe is finding the Thai basil (different from Italian), I found it in an Asian market. You can substitute stir fry or wide rice noodles for the rice if you prefer. If you use wide rice noodles, it's best to chop them up a bit so they absorb the flavor. Wonderful recipe - I'm so excited I found it! This will be a weekly recipe in my house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Danielle
Yummy! I'm a vegetarian who doesn't eat fish products--so I substituted fish sauce for soy sauce, and substituted oyster sauce for a mushroom stir-fry sauce I bought at an asian market. Instead of chicken, I added some delicious fried tofu. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Casey_27
This is a great recipe. Here are my recommended changes: 1) Use 4 to 8 Thai "bird's eye" chili peppers instead of serranos. 2) Add the bell pepper when the chicken and onion are nearly done cooking so it won't overcook. 3) You can change the flavor of this dish a lot depending on when you add the fish/oyster sauce. Add it before the chicken and it will lose most of its characteristic Thai flavor. Add it a couple minutes after the chicken and you will keep some of the fishy Thai flavor. Or, add it with the rice as instructed here and you retain a lot of the fishy flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: tnarladni
I did what one reviewer suggested and added the fish sauce and oyster sauce in the oil for a bit before adding the chicken. This is an old trick my mom uses to take the strong fish smell out of the fish sauce. I also had to add two extra cups of rice since it was quite wet. I'll have to try seafood or beef next time. Excellent dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Shookie
This recipe had very genuine thai flavor. Instead of sugar I substituted a bit of honey and only used a drizzle of oil to cut back on the fat. I also used brown rice and added a few handfuls of sugar snap peas to increase the serving size without increasing the calories by much. Excellent recipe and I can't wait to share it with all of my friends
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: ChrisM88
As is, this recipes is just so-so. With a few modifications, it can be great! I use soy sauce instead of oyster sauce and I add a few extra tablespoons of it - but that's just a personal choice. What makes a HUGE difference is using real Thai chilis instead of serrano peppers. I personally use five chilis, but I like it REALLY hot so normal people may want to use 2 or 3. I also cut the oil in half, added 1/4 tsp of salt, and added sliced shitake mushrooms. Awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: chefk4
This recipe was easy to make and it was very tasty. It is close to the dish I usually order at the Thai restaurants.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: thegman
This recipe is easily one of my very favorite things to cook! All my friends LOVE and RAVE about it! I cook this in my giant, propane, outdoor wok that I bought from Bass Pro Outlets...cooking on it is quite a show for friends! I prep all the veggies in advance so when I'm ready, I just throw everything in (in specific order of course!) I've made the following changes to an already outstanding recipe: I add more sauce (9 tablespoons oyster sauce, 6 tablespoons fish sauce and 3 teaspoon white sugar). I add 2 chunks of finely chopped ginger with the garlic. I also add sliced carrots, mushrooms and diced scallions. I scramble 6 eggs in advance and add them at the end. I occasionally substitute scallops or tofu for chicken. WOW this is great!! Everyone I've made this for wants the recipe!! (I can't figure out how to give this 10 stars, so I'll have to give it only 5!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: sirmixwell99
For a healthier version, I cut the oil in half and use olive oil and brown rice instead. I also use a package of firm tofu in the mix. Additionally, I'll use extra vegetables such as mushrooms, tomatoes, and bean sprouts in the final phase of cooking. Garnish with lime and a side of Sambal and this dish is set!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: ARDay
Rice was too wet for my liking. Perhaps too much oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes