My Reviews (111)

Thai Coconut Chicken Curry

This is a great introduction to making your favourite Thai dishes at home. Soy sauce can be substituted for fish sauce if you don't have it and more heat added with chilli flakes or similar if you like it hot.
Reviews (111)


17 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: karenleland
I served this for dinner for my family and doubled the recipe. Everyone loved it! I made a few adjustments(this is for the recipe doubled): 2 tsp salt, 1.5 Tbs ginger chopped, 3 cloves garlic minced, 1 can sliced water chestnuts, and a can of baby corn sliced in half.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Marcia
Very tasty and easy to make! I did use basil instead of Cilantro, and green peppers instead of red, just because that's what I had. I did also add 1/8 tsp of some hot pepper sauce to give it a zap of extra heat. It was perfect! This goes in my rotation now and I am happy I can make Thai at home and can save a few $$ instead of ordering out. Definitely give it a try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: sagorman
Delicious! I made this tonight for dinner. It was fast and super easy. I took the chicken out to cook onions, as suggested. I didn't add peppers but bamboo shoots. Added some McCormick "Hot Madras Curry Powder" for a bit more heat. Added fresh ground ginger to the coconut milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Sisilia
This was pretty good. I agree with some of the other reviewers that it tastes like something is missing even though I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper prior to adding it to the skillet and used 1 tbsp of curry paste instead of just 1 tsp. As well, I added the coconut milk at the end of sauteing all the other ingredients to really season the chicken. I served this over basmati rice and had to jazz it up with hot mango chutney. It was a good base but I think next time I'll have to increase the spice factor, maybe add more lemon juice and zest, and increase the curry paste used. I'll also try using regular coconut milk next time as I think it'll taste creamier. This is not bad but does need some tweaking to boost the flavour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Baking Nana
This was really pretty good. I cut the chicken into cubes instead of strips and marinated the chicken in some coconut milk and curry. Cooked the chicken first and removed from wok and then proceeded with the recipe adding the chicken back into the sauce towards the end. I did increase the amount of curry paste to about 1 Tablespoon and used lime instead of lemon. Served with Jasmine rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2011
Reviewed by: kpow33
Awesome - even my husband who "hates" curries had seconds!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: bookwrm785
Very disappointing. Followed modifications and added carrots, garlic, and tripled the curry paste. Flavor was very bland and only helped adding lots of sweet chile sauce. Won't be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: geauxgirl
LOVE this recipe!!! I also subbed all the lemon for lime, garlic instead of onion and added mushrooms and rice noodles.. it's was spectacular. I always only add curry paste one tbs at a time and used 2 also. I used red curry paste because I just prefer it. I used fish sauce, no soy. and instead of veg oil used sesame
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: drheather
Easy, fast, not too many or too complicated of ingredients -- and DELICIOUS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Jen
I used Curry paste, added cooked Costco rotisserie chicken later, a bit of chicken stock and substituted Sour Cream for Coconut Milk. Let it simmer and the flavors really start melding. Microwave some Trader Joe's Brown Rice and toast some TJs Nan bread and you got a meal Patek's Curry Paste is the best! Watch it because even mild packs some heat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes