My Reviews (81)

Fruit Couscous

This is a great couscous using a range of fruits and nuts including apricot, dates and almonds. A perfect side dish for any meat.
Reviews (81)


18 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Dragondreama
This is a huge amount. I halved the ingredients and still had way too much for my family of 4. The broth of boiling fruit smells unpleasant but thankfully that doesn't stay for the finished product. I made mine without nuts and was still tasty.
 
28 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: mvcook
Some reviewers, apparently, haven't a clue what this recipe is all about. Please note: (1) this is a Moroccan SIDE DISH; (2) it is SUPPOSED to be spicy and somewhat sweet; and (3) it is intended to be served with a tagine, or other stew, and should be DRY enough to soak up the juices of the main course. When used as it is intended, it is a spectacular--and VERY fast and easy--part of a meal featuring, say, a delicious, savory lamb tagine. It should come as no surprise that it will need some alteration if it is used in another way. But I think it's unfair to criticize baked potatoes because they aren't prime rib or pound cake. I find this recipe really, really good, just as it appears here. I have made it dozens of times as an accompaniment to Middle Eastern food. to rave reviews. However, if you want bland and soupy, look elsewhere, or make the alterations others suggest as "improvements."
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: KIMAR
Per others' suggestions, I substituted chicken broth for the vegetable broth, reduced cinnamon to 1 1/4 tsp., and used dried cranberries instead of the dates. Liked the buttery, sweet flavor. Reduce the 2 cups dry couscous to one 10 oz. box of couscous (measured out to 1 1/2 cups approx.) Even with that reduction, it is a tad dry so you might want to add 1 or 2 T. extra broth. (The dried fruits absorb some of the liquid, leaving less for the couscous and making it a tad on the dry side.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2005
Reviewed by: SELEA
Very good! The recipe calls for 3 teaspoons cinnamon. However, I do suggest that you start with 1 teaspoon, then add more, to taste. One teaspoon gives such a subtle taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: evacooper
i didn't even add the almonds yet (i am serving it tonite, don't want them soggy) and it is delish! pretty sweet too. you can even eat it without the cinnamon. i made it with whole-wheat couscous. and i used oil instead of butter. thank you for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: kelcampbell
This was a very good/easy recipe, but I did change the recipe substantially. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, I omitted the dates because I didn't have any and used dried cherries in their place. I was also out of almonds, but used toasted walnuts instead; and reduced the amount of butter by half. Lastly, I added 2 small chopped green onions and about 1/4 cup of chopped Italian parsley. The end result was very good and we will most definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: LINDAMDOW
DO NOT-I REPEAT-DO NOT PUT THAT MUCH CINNAMON IN! I put 1 tsp. cinnamon and that was plenty. This was a pretty good side-dish, though I got no raves from my family. I think it needs something else savory to balance the sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Cig
OK - this DEFINITELY needs at least 1 cup or even 2 cups of additional stock. I am middle eastern, too, and this is not how couscous is supposed to be - even when served with a liquidy dish, which I did. Other than that, I loved the flavors and texture (I also added dried figs). I might even add more fruit next time. Served with Israeli Moroccan Couscous from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2007
Reviewed by: HERMES3G
My husband and I enjoyed this very much. For quick vegetable broth, try Knorrs vegetable cubes - I use them in place of any broth (chicken, beef or vegetable).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: GR8NURS1271
This was the perfect recipe for a first time Moroccan food eater! Not too spicy but with plenty of flavor! It was sweet enough and not so exotic to feed the kids too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes