My Reviews (317)

Four Banana and Walnut Cake

This is a great use of bananas in a simple recipe with the great addition of walnuts for a textual contrast. Ice with your favourite icing, I find lemon works really well.
Reviews (317)


14 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: KarenR
great recipe for making something for kids lunch box. Delicious simple and quick
 
06 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: MYSTE
After reading reviews that said this cake had a bread like texture I decided to add 1 teaspoon of baking powder to the recipe. The result was fabulous! Still a dense cake that you would expect to get by adding fruit or veggies (apple, carrot, etc) but definitely a cake like texture. I used an angel food cake pan and baked it at 350 for 40 minutes. Nice rounded top and the cake would have been delicious without the frosting. I used 1/2 of a cream cheese frosting recipe and added 1/2 of a banana. The result was a runny frosting (although it tasted good) even with adding more powdered sugar. Next time I'll use banana flavoring in the frosting instead of the banana, although the cake would have been wonderful without any icing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: KATHY
This is very good. I was looking for a quick recipe to use up bananas and this was perfect. I baked it in a bundt pan for 40 mins and I left out the nuts. It did Not have the dense quality of banana bread like some reviewers said. It was light and moist. I think the secret is to cream the sugar and margarine (or butter)really well and then add the eggs and mix those in before adding the rest of the ingredients. I was going to make a glaze for it but the family started eating it as soon as I turned it out of the pan. I will definately make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2006
Reviewed by: PRIMITIVEFANDANGO
This is a really tasty recipe. That said, I had to post a review because I think people ought to be aware that this is not really a cake in the traditional sense. I made it for Mother's Day, frosted it with vanilla cream cheese frosting and was envisioning a fluffy, moist cake. Unfortunately, it's like banana bread with frosting - really dense, with a slight chew. Although it was quite delicious, we just couldn't get past the texture. I think if you go into it with the understanding that it's more like a bread (and maybe skip the frosting?) you'll be more satisfied with the results. I think we figured out the SURPRISE! part of the title....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Hot Chilli
Oh my goodness, this was excellent! It's the best banana cake I have ever made. Light, fluffy and full flavoured. I did change the recipe slightly. Only used 2 banana's as thats all I had, beat the eggs one at a time into the creamed butter/sugar before adding the flour & added about 1/4 cup of milk as the batter was a little dry. Also it took about 45mins to bake (but I have a slow oven). Will be using this recipe with the changes from now on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Anna
This is my first time baking so I chose this simple recipe. I added 6 bananas and 1 tbsp of vanilla extract to give the strong taste. Instead of using unsalted butter and add salt later, I used margerin instead and no salt added. Because I'm not that excited about nuts so I eliminated that altogether. The result came out perfect moist and fluffy. A perfect recipe for beginners. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: American Beauty
Awesome! Possibly b/c I used cake flour instead of regular flour, which I always do for cakes. My 4 bananas were very large. I omitted walnuts, as we don't like them in cakes. Quick breads, sure, but not cake. Lacking a 9 x 13 pan, I used a silicone 9" square, and it produced a 2" high, fluffy (the cake flour!) cake. I'll make this often, with my changes. Oh, and did I mention? I highly recommend using cake flour!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2006
Reviewed by: IVANDIEPART
I had overripe bananas I needed to use, and thought this cake might be a great way to. I frosted it with the brown sugar cream cheese frosting on this site (see my review), and it was very fine. This cake is very, very moist, just the way I like cakes. I will bake it on a regular basis.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: sharon
Instead of making a cake, I made this recipe into cupcakes. It made 18 cupcakes & I only baked for 20 min. instead of the suggested 30 min. I frosted them w/ chocolate frosting; they turned out great! Will definatly make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: GENNLOU
This is one of the best cakes I have ever made. I have baked this four times in the last two weeks. The taste is great. I know I will bake this more and more. Thanks so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes