My Reviews (82)

Capsicum and Feta Hummus

This zingy hummus is flavoured with feta cheese and roasted capsicums. Serve with chips, pita chips or cut vegetables.
Reviews (82)


16 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Valerie
This is the best hummus ever---actually I have never liked traditional hummus before. This version is very healthy/low-fat with no olive oil. I often use a fresh roasted red pepper instead of those in a jar. I first grill the red pepper and blacken the skin (you can also do that under the broiler) then peel off all the blackened skin and remove seed then throw the pepper in the food processor with the rest of the ingredients. UPDATE - Made this even better...delete the parsley and the salt and add a large clove of garlic and about a dozen kalamata olives (pitted of course!) and about a tbsp. of the brine that the olives come in! EVEN MORE FABULOUS and a good way to get healthy red peppers, beans and olives all in one dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Kathleen
I was super surprised by this! Beautiful flavor combo with the perfect amount of heat. I added 1 clove of garlic, because I adore garlic. I also made mine in the blender and needed to add a little liquid to get it moving. I added 3 TBS of water and 2 TBS of olive oil. It was beautiful and smooth and made a very generous amount of hummus. Thanks for a fantastic 5 star recipe! I also tossed with hot pasta for a delicious entree!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Christina M K
Very tasty; thank you for posting. The only tweaking was to add a tablespoon of tahini (from grounds sesame seeds), garlic to taste and to reduce the lemon to two tablespoons. The result, simply DELICIOUS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Barbie Parker
Wow! I love hummus and have eaten a lot of it...but this has to be one of the best that I have not only eaten, but made as well. And I must admit, it was my first attempt at making hummus. I decided to try three varieties and this would be my favorite. Highly recommend.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Fit&Healthy Mom
Delicious and so simple to make! To decrease the amount of fat, I used reduced fat feta cheese and halved the amount. I also omitted the fresh parsley because I didn't have any. With all these changes it was still very tasty. Thanks Valerie, this is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Jessi
Fantastic! Based on reviews, I decreased the lemon juice to one tablespoon. It was a big hit with everyone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: PAM620
I don't know what I did wrong, but this definitely needed olive oil and tahini. Mine was way too thick & hot. I'll stick to buying my hummus from now on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Lynn
This is the first and last hummus I will ever make. It is absolutely delicious just as the recipe reads. Just the right amount of spice and flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: megameaghan1
Made just the way the ingredients are listed, the feta flavor was really overwhelming. I had toa dd more roasted red peppers to balance it out and I think next time I will start with about half the feta and taste and add from there. Once I balanced out the feta though it was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Kwas72
Loved the flavor and it was so easy to make! Works well with bread sticks and cut veggies!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes