My Reviews (17)

Roast Chicken with Beer

Moist, juicy chicken with roasted veggies cooked in a beer gravy...what more could a man want for dinner!
Reviews (17)


16 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Missy
i liked it ok but loved it after i made some changes. first i left out the oil and water as they were not needed. i poured 1/4 of the beer in a glass oven pan then 1/4 can of chicken broth to follow. then placed the chicken in the pan surrounding it with red potatoes(quartered), baby carrots, and half an onion (sliced), poured the remaining beer and both over it all. then i seasoned the chicken and vegetables with pepper, garlic powder, seasoned salt and zatarans. then i zested the orange on top of the chicken, poked holes in the orange then put it in the opening. i followed the baking instructions and it came out awesome, although the vegetables may need to cook a little longer(remove chicken and cover, cook veggies 15 mins at 450 for electric oven) its a must have at least twice a month in my household!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Kel
I make Roasted Chicken all the time and this recipe was boring and really had no taste. With the two temperture changes, and it being covered the first hr., it did come out moist. Moist is always good but, bland is not. For those who have not tried this yet,,,add some spices of your choice and I'm sure it would get a better rating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Dave Bushman
I love chicken. Never tried a chicken recipe I didn't like, but I "loved" this one. All I added were 2 tsps. of minced fresh rosemary. 1 on the chicken and 1 on the vegi's.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: QueenMacAnnie
Making it again tomorrow night - my husband loves it and it makes great sandwiches too. IMPORTANT NOTE... I have tried this recipe with different lager's and it makes a BIG difference in the taste. You need to use a lager with "bite" too it - if you can not find Fosters® then the green bottles usually work and are easier to find in the supermarket.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: CkretsGalore
Like many others I added fresh herbs (Sage/Rosemary/Thyme) for a bit more flavour. We stuck with the oil as it increases the browning. To stick with an October/Halloween theme we used "Vampire Maple Lager!" It was quite strong to drink but for this chicken it was superb. We will definitely make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: LidaEm
A bit bland even though I noticed the other reviews and added fresh rosemary, oregano and sage. And it needed way more salt and pepper than I thought. I used Blue Moon beer which goes really well with orange and I thought that aspect turned out pretty good. Tasty, but add seasonings!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: bep
I liked this recipe, but not much flavor right away. It tasted better the next day. Next time will try adding more spices, but will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: rod28715
I have to admit...I never liked mixing fruit with meat, but thought I would give this one a go. Very moist but also bland with the exception of the very slight sweetness from both the lager and the orange. This one is not for us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Gargantujuan
I used a lemon instead of an orange and zested it first for coating the outside of the bird. I also used a hefeweizen instead of lager (lemon and hef is a natural combo) I also threw in some sweet potatoes instead of carrots and used boxed chicken stock instead of the bouillon cube. I would recommend a cast iron dutch oven as the cooking vessel if you have it. It works really well for this sort of recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: chessa
This was amazing. My husband thought it was the best chicken I've ever made. It was really easy and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes