My Reviews (29)

Fresh Shiitake Mushroom Risotto

Fresh shiitake have the best texture but if you can only get dried soak them in water first. This risotto is extremely good.
Reviews (29)


17 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: karincalvinho
This recipe is perfect. Easy and delicious. I was too lazy too get out and buy more ingredients, so I just used shiitake mushrooms and sake (azuma mirim) instead of white wine. Also used onions and garlic instead of eschalot and white rice instead of Arborio. Even with all this changes it was great. Really a foolproof and forgiving recipe. Just one correction: it serves 3, because people want to help themselves twice.
 
14 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: LeighAmbrose
Absolutely delicious risotto. So full of flavour. I used mixed mushrooms including shiitake and enoki as well as Swiss browns. So good!
 
24 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: anthea.kinchen
Absolutely gorgeous! The only thing I added was peas for my pea freak husband. If you want to impress, make this. A very good risotto! ! !
 
23 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: SunnyByrd
My first time making risotto solo and it came out perfectly! Mine took quite a bit longer than etimated, and used more liquid, but I made it in a deep skillet rather than a saucepan, which may have affected the speed of evaporation/absorbtion...I don't know. Anyway, I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because I followed it exactly (which includes the 'as needed' and 'until' parts of the recipe) and it worked like a charm. Risotto is not at all hard to make, but it is certainly boring and time consuming - so it probably won't happen often at my house, but was definitely worth trying. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Belinda Neidigk Fultz
Great recipe. You will have to stir this for a good 20 minutes but like was mentioned, it is well worth it. I added a clove of garlic to sautee at the beginning and then added 2 bay leaves to the warm vegetable stock. My family loved it. I will use this one again for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: CARLYNSMOMMY
This was soooo good! I will definetely make this one again. I made no changes to this recipe, it's perfect! Thanx for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Jeff Kology
I have never eaten risotto before, much more cooked it. It was FABULOUS! My only slight variation was I couldn't find whole Parmesan to grate, so I used the shredded type; it melted right in. Also, when I cooked the shallots on medium high, they burned right away -- so I started over and cooked everything down a notch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Maureen
Much too salty for our taste, even leaving out the celery salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: KitKat
This came out GREAT! I only used the baby bellas because that was available. If you have any reservations about trying to make risotto, try this receipe--it's easy and the results are awesome.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2009
Reviewed by: Nenah B
This recipe is almost perfect. It was my 2nd time making risotto and the last time I made way too much. I cut the recipe and I still ended up with a lot of left over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes