My Reviews (35)

Savoury Zucchini Muffins

A nice change from the traditional sweet zucchini muffin this recipe utilizes zucchini, onion, garlic, roasted red capsicum and sun-dried tomatoes, resulting in a moist, savoury muffin. You can sprinkle with a little grated parmesan before baking.
Reviews (35)


26 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: janno57
Made these easily and all loved the taste. As an Aussie, it's not easy to find american cornmeal, so I used Squisito 1 Minute Polenta, which has a very fine grain. Make sure these are cooked through as the polenta is slightly gritty to the teeth if muffins under done.
 
01 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Christine, I am SO excited to be the first reviewer of your recipe so that I can give it a good jump start by showering it with the praise it deserves! The recipe, granted, is very involved for a muffin and requires a lot of ingredients. Maybe this unfortunately makes people pass it by. But here is a perfect example of how the effort you put into something is SO worth the results! As the first reviewer I felt a responsibility to strictly stick to the recipe and other than using full fat sour cream and skipping the optional Parmesan topping, I did. As these were baking (mine only took 30 minutes) the aroma was so good it truly was making my mouth water - and I'm not being dramatic to stress a point! Healthy, flavorful ingredients and flecked with lovely colors, but the true test would be the taste test. You have outdone yourself! They are perfect! Moist, great texture, beautiful, and such a unique flavor! You have this recipe down pat, and I would strongly encourage others not only to try these, but to make them exactly as the recipe directs - that means no shortcuts, no changes, no substitutions or deletions. I can't imagine how this recipe could be improved upon the perfection it already is. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: bellepepper
This recipe produces a wonderfully delightful muffin! I must say, it is very time consuming, and took me way more than the 25 minute prep time indicated. But if you do have the time, these are well worth it. I made 1/2 a batch and now wished I made the whole thing. Mine came out perfectly beautiful after 32 minutes. I'll definitely make these again and might try making them in stages. I think I'd prep the zucchini mixture a day ahead, cover and refrigerate it. And the dry ingredients could easily be combined a day ahead. This is a wonderful recipe, so do give it a try. Just plan ahead!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: jenny
Exactly what I’ve been looking for! Savory, flavorful, moist, and satisfying. Two of these make for a perfect snack/lunch on the go. I followed the recipe pretty exact with only a few modifications—added a handful of seeds (mix of flax, sunflower, and pumpkin), added an additional 1T of milk since my mixture seemed a tad on the dry side (maybe from the seed addition), and used herbs de Provence since I didn’t have dried basil and parsley. Unlike other reviewers mine were perfectly baked at 38 min. I will definitely make these again, and maybe try other vegetable/cheese combinations—spinach, tomato, feta sounds goods. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: marljong
Marvelous muffins! I could not stop eating them! I sauteed the zucchini and broccoli until slightly tender. I used Greek yogurt and buttermilk and then proceeded with the recipe. I baked it for 25-30 mins. Definitely A+ recipe. I will make these tender, moist, delicious morsels again! Thanks Christina!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: LC
Certainly a 5* - takes more time but worth every bit of the effort. Didn't change anything except to substitute yogurt for sour cream bcos I didn't have any. Made it for church brunch & everyone was surprised at how tasty it is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Milky
this is a really good recipe. Muffins are tasty, moist and fragrant. I strictly followed the recipe except for the red peppers I can't eat; I substituted them with about 70 grams of minced speck, a typical italian smoked prosciutto. as others suggested I mixed the parmigiano cheese into the batter. I'll do these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: RMSR
These are really good! I substituted the whole wheat flour with an equal amount of all-purpose as I never have the latter on hand. Worked fine! I realize the Parmesan topping is optional, but went for it. It gets way too brown for our liking. I will omit it next time or try another cheese mixed into the batter. This would be great with olives and feta too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: FARMMOM
Can't stop eating these. I was pressed for time so didn't saute the garlic and onions, reduced the onion to 1/4 cup finely chopped and mixed in with the zucchini, also mixed the parmesan cheese in the batter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Denvergran
Good but....... They lacked zip, so with the roasted red peppers, etc in the food processor we added one seedless and deveined jalapeno pepper, another 1/2-1 tsp salt, a handful of parmesan cheese and replaced 1/2 c all purpose flour with 1/2 c nutritional yeast (not brewers or quick rise yeast) (available at most health food stores). Delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes