My Reviews (24)

Roasted Parsnips with Mint and Sage

These roasted parsnips, flavoured with garlic, honey, fresh mint and sage, are just as delicious as chips!
Reviews (24)


08 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: FNChef
YUM! So happy to try this - I had parsnips from another recipe AND my herb garden is getting out of control with mint and sage. Initially, I was hesitant about the mint, but it really blends in nicely with the other ingredients...certainly doesn't POP like you might expect it would. The honey helped with the sweetness of the veggies (I added carrots because i had them peeled and cut already... glad I did for an extra burst of color!) Everything about this was perfect, in my opinion. Other than adding more veggies for more color/nutrition/variety, I wouldn't change a thing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Barb A.
This is a delicious vegetable dish. Like other reviewers, I used carrots and parsnips (4 of each - and there was plenty of the mixture to coat the vegetables). The only change I made was to use fresh oregano for the sage, as I didn't have any sage. A definite make-again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: MaLizGa
While I liked this dish (I love parsnip) I was shocked at the compliments it received during dinner. The sage overpowers the mint, I feel. I also didn't measure the honey - just added a squirt or so, definitely not a full tablespoon. Four parsnip is a very small portion for four people - I used six parsnip and three carrots for six. I'd definitely make this sometime again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: HLyn76
This was excellent! I loved having a new idea for a vegetable side dish as my usual fare gets old after a while. I added 4 carrots to this and cut them in the same julienne shape. They really did seem like veggie "fries" and were so tasty. The mint and sage were brilliant additions. I can't wait to make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2011
Reviewed by: SonataGirl
My first time making parsnips. They were yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
12 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Kym Cox Surridge
This is my new favorite way to make parsnips! I ran out of mint, so I doubled the sage, and it was delicious. These came out almost like sweet (but not too sweet) french fries. I'll be making this often throughout the winter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: delish
Excellent flavor! Don't skimp out on the honey--- completely worth it! My only advice is to check it after 20 minutes at 450. Because at 30 minutes at 450, mine burned and turned half black. So in the future I would lessen the cooking time OR lower the temperature, whichever makes a better fry. Thanks for a great recipe! And who knew that mint and sage are such flavor enhancers when used together!?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: In-a-Pickle
Yummy and I didn't even put the fresh mint and fresh sage - used a little dried sage though. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: LauraZ
It was good, just not as good as I anticipated. I didn't like the sage and mint, should of left those out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: evillhog
Yum! I also added carrots and golden beets to this dish. I did not have any mint on hand either, but it was still amazing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes