My Reviews (27)

Portobello Eggplant Stacks

These are a great use of vegetables that make a great vegetarian lunch or equally satisfying side dish for meat eaters.
Reviews (27)


19 May 2006
Reviewed by: Tara Lazar
A delicious and easy vegetarian meal, although I made a few changes. I felt the stacks needed a bit more flavor, so I added minced garlic to the marinade and then sprinkled grated romano cheese inbetween each layer. (Also be sure to season everything with salt and pepper.) I chopped the mushroom stems, leftover onion and eggplant and sauteed in olive oil with 4 cloves of minced garlic, then added a can of diced tomatoes to make a quick pasta sauce. It simmered while the stacks cooked in the oven. I served the stacks with pasta and sauce; the entire meal was satisfying and delicious. I feel that this dish needs slightly higher heat or a longer cooking time, especially if you cut your slices on the thicker side!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: SPELTRONG
This was really tasty.. Earlier in the day I grilled the mushroom, onion, and eggplant to give it a nice smoky flavor. Then when we were ready for dinner, i just popped it in the oven. Next time, I think I'll try it with fresh mozzarella cheese. mmmmmmm...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Stacey
This was great! I will definately be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: BETTYTAMS
This recipe was incredible and so easy!! This is definitely an easy recipe I can make when my friends come for lunch. I will also make it for dinner when we entertain. It is an impressive looking dish. The tastes were just so good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: OOKIEWOOKIE
First I took the slices of eggplant and put them on a cookie sheet and sprinkled them with olive oil, basil and garlic powder. Broiled them 5 minutes on each side. Then I threw the eggplant in a 9X13 pan and threw in the balsamic marinated mushrooms and onions. I dumped in a 28oz. can of diced tomatoes and and baked for 45 minutes to one hour at 350. Then topped with mozzerella and parmesian. It was incredibly yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: trickystix
This was healthy and fantastic! The only this I did differntly was add some garlic, salt, and pepper between some of the layers. We'll be serving this at our next dinner party!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: SKINAMARINKYDINK
I love this recipe and have made it for years. I take thin slices of chicken that I have cooked and set them on top of the mushroom. I am going to try the recipe next time with basil like others have suggested. Super yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: THELMALU99
I really like this recipe. The only thing missing, for my taste, is some fresh herbs. A few whole basil leaves between the onion and tomato make a big difference. I have also tried this casserole style - I made a simple sauce with the tomatoes and onions, with some garlic and lots of fresh herbs-oregano, basil and rosemary. Omitted the balsamic vinegar and instead poured the sauce over the eggplant and mushroom and topped with the cheese. This made a delicious and healthy vegetarian main course. Thanks for sharing, Deb!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: CookinBug
Good! Mine ended up looking quite comical because my garden didn't have any large tomatoes ripe for me when I went out to grab one for this recipe, so I had to use halved cherry tomatoes. Looked funny, but still tasty. I did sweat the eggplant while the mushroom & onion marinated. I added fresh cracked black pepper and garlic powder. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: trollmother
SO EASY! the flavors were superb, but terribly difficult to eat. it really tastes best to get all the ingredients in one bite, but to not feel like you're stuffing your face, you need to chop it uo into bite size pieces.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes