My Reviews (68)

Classic Chicken Liver Pâté

A very elegant and delicious appetiser, perfect for nibbles at a dinner party. Serve on toasted crusty bread.
Reviews (68)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: LEAH NICOLLE
This is a very simple, yet tasty, recipe. Preparation was quick and the results were very satisfying. The sherry adds a subtle sweetness to the pate.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ASIFAN
Left the remainder at a party and the hosts had it for breakfast the next day. I tripled the other amounts but used a little over a whole lb of livers. It was great for a party of 24.
 
06 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: ladyannie68
This was awesome.. beautiful flavours. Doubled everything because I love pate and it came out perfect!! Posted a pic
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CHRISTINE724
First of all, let me say that the flavor of this mixture was fantastic. However, there were too many variables left to chance. Yes, well all have different "to taste" measurements, but please give a median amount as a starting point; three "to taste" ingredients is too many. I followed the directions, converting the ingredients to match 1 lb of chicken livers. There's no pretty way of saying that what I ended up with was a liver shake, or a very runny liver mousse. It was unappetizing to the extreme in appearance, and still has not set up after six hours in the refrigerator. Because the flavors are so fabulous, I may yet try to salvage this by using some unflavored gelatin. Just a word to the wise: even tho the recipe does not say to do so, DRAIN your livers after simmering, and add liquid as needed only. Next time, I will also use a food processor or a hand-grinder rather than a blender for more control of the texture. Flavor -- five-star, appearance -- BLECHH.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MIHAELA
I think this recipe is good, but its not great. It seems to be missing 'something'. I mean no disrespect to the author, however, it does need a little fine tuning.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: spacebase
very good if you like pate
 
12 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Emily Henderson
First of all, let me say that the flavor of this mixture was fantastic. However, there were too many variables left to chance. Yes, well all have different "to taste" measurements, but please give a median amount as a starting point; three "to taste" ingredients is too many. I followed the directions, converting the ingredients to match 1 lb of chicken livers. There's no pretty way of saying that what I ended up with was a liver shake, or a very runny liver mousse. It was unappetizing to the extreme in appearance, and still has not set up after six hours in the refrigerator. Because the flavors are so fabulous, I may yet try to salvage this by using some unflavored gelatin. Just a word to the wise: even tho the recipe does not say to do so, DRAIN your livers after simmering, and add liquid as needed only. Next time, I will also use a food processor or a hand-grinder rather than a blender for more control of the texture. Flavor -- five-star, appearance -- BLECHH.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Danno
I quadrupled this to use a pound of livers, added some extra onion and garlic (well, 7 cloves, sliced) while sauteing the livers, and used a fraction of the sherry called for, and it was amazing. I've tried it with the amount of sherry suggested, but that seemed to overpower everything else. As for draining the livers, I didn't - a fair bit of that liquid is melted butter, which sets up nicely when chilled. The blender does seem to liquefy ingredients easier than my food processor does. I'd suggest letting the livers cool considerably before mashing, then add that liquid as seems called for. Totally delicious when served on garlic toast rounds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: DMDILLON
This is a very simple, yet tasty, recipe. Preparation was quick and the results were very satisfying. The sherry adds a subtle sweetness to the pate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: JEFF KREIGER
Left the remainder at a party and the hosts had it for breakfast the next day. I tripled the other amounts but used a little over a whole lb of livers. It was great for a party of 24.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes