My Reviews (17)

Banana Nut Bread

A great banana bread that uses fat free sour cream, walnuts and vanilla to create a wonderful tasty and textured cake.
Reviews (17)


02 May 2005
Reviewed by: Susan Blaski
To further reduce calories, I used 1/2 c Egg Beaters for the egg whites, 8 bananas, 1 c Splenda instead of the brown sugar, 2 T applesauce instead of the margarine, 2 T vanilla and 2 c each whole wheat and white flour. I baked at 350 due to lack of fat in recipe. I thought it came out pretty decent. I would make it again. I covered the tops of the bread with foil during cooking so they wouldn't over brown.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: HARLEYHON444
I made a few revisions but this is a great recipe! First, I only made 1/2 the original size so that I just made one pan of the bread. I used 1/2 white & 1/2 whole wheat flour, added 3 tbsp applesauce in lieu of margarine/oil, added 1 tbsp ground flax seed, used twice as many walnuts, added an extra splash of vanilla, and didn't use any raisins. For those interested, I timed the cooking and it took one loaf 37-40 minutes with no burnt top and a moist inside. NOTE: The whole wheat flour makes it a more dense bread and the lack of oil/margarine affects the consistency but neither change the good taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: multiangle
I cut this recipe in 1/2 and I still get 12 small muffins from it. And they are so moist and almost spongy. Fast and Delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: SARAH FROM IOWA
I cut the recipe in half because I only have 1 pan that size and it still made plenty. The raisins added flavor but I found the crust to be hard and dry. I'll make this again though because I love banana bread. Can't imagine it w/out walnuts. Got gooey after a couple days.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: neesie
Excellent alternative to the fat-laden nut bread I used to make. It freezes well, keeps in the fridge for weeks and is delicious warmed up! I made some personal adjustments by cutting the original recipe in half and omitting the raisins. I added 1/2 cup pecans (walnuts are really fatty) and 1/4 cup flaxseed (great crunch). Subbed 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white for the flour. Cook for 37 mins. will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: RUSS960
I loved this recipe and so did my fellow co workers. The bread was just like what my mom used to make. It was so good I gave her the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: HALOISASQ
I have used this recipe many times now and people cannot get enough of it! They can't believe that it is so moist and lower fat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Maggie
The flavor was good, but the texture of the bread could be described as "chewy." It was moist enough, but I simply didn't care for the texture. The outside of the bread cooked way too quickly, too - in fact, it burned. Perhaps I cooked it too long - 45 minutes - but I need to cook most of my other quick breads for at least 1 hour. HOWEVER, this is a fair trade-off for the reduction in fat and calories this bread offers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: MILANGE1
Very moist and yummy....I added chocolate chips instead of raisins....mmmmmmm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: daf
January 2007. Made this for my daughter's 16th birthday party; one gal said she doesn't eat bread but ate 5 slices of this! I substituted 1 cup of mini chocolate chips for the raisins/ nuts. Definitely a winner!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes