My Reviews (388)

Slow Cooker Beef and Vegetable Stew

My son calls this very-hearty beef and vegetable stew 'world famous!' You will need a large slow cooker.
Reviews (388)


07 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: wilkie
 
27 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: kita1990
LOVE IT!!! so easy!
 
11 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: Neensy
So good! I had to stop myself from eating a third bowl!
 
07 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: NoeleenCooganAgius
Followed this recipe to the 'T' & OMG it was sooooo scrummdiddlyumptious!! Whole family looooved it. Next day with the generous leftovers, i popped the stew in puff pastry lined ramekins and WHALLA! Scrummdiddlyumptious Stew Pies!! Meat melted in our mouths♥ if i can give any advice it would be....follow this recipe as its written, dont throw everything into slow cooker to skip steps. The flavours gained by pan frying during preparation are what makes it all come together beautifully. Thanks Heather K for this doozie!! ♥
 
20 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: EndaDooley
awesome recipe - very tasty
 
20 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: krazee
The cornflour didn't really thicken the stew until it cooled and it tended to overpower the rest of the flavour, which was quite restrained. Takes more like 45-60 minutes to prepare.
 
11 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Heidi
This turned out to be the best beef stew ever, but I gave it only 4 stars because of the alterations I had to use. I feel that some of the steps listed are unnecessary and take extra time (like boiling the water with the soup mix). I followed the instructions with the following changes: I added 2 C. beef broth (in place of water) and only 1 packet of the onion soup mix straight to the crock pot. I also cut the onion into very small pieces and only added about 1 1/2 med. sized onions. I also added 3 tbs. fresh chopped parsley instead of dried, and 1 tbs. of celery flakes. I think that fresh celery would go well also. I did not use mushrooms, and added the wine straight to the crock pot. Also added just a pinch of allspice (I always use it in beef dishes and it's GREAT!) and 1 bay leaf that I removed when it was done cooking. This is hearty and amazing! Next time I'll try red potatoes. I made an extra batch, put in frozen tupperware, and gave as homemade frozen meals for Christmas!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: kch4498
I am the one that is known for making reservations, not dinner itself. A friend turned me onto this site and I look for the 5 star ratings to try something out. When I made this, my husband remarked "What did you do to this?" I didn't know how to respond so I just said nervously asked "Why?" He asked me what I laced it with because he had never tasted Stew so good in his life. He had 5 helpings that night, and took it to work every day that week. He never eats left overs EVER, so the fact he did the entire week was astounding. My husband is a very picky eater, and is afforded the luxury of eating in the finest eateries around town for lunch several times a week so it is HIGHEST praise coming from him. I went back to find the recipe again (stupidly did not save it to my box and erroneously made another recipe. Even tho it was rated 5 stars as well, it was not even close in flavor to this one. Miraculously, I printed out this recipe and just found it again. Whew!! Off to make it again tonight. When browning the beef, don't use a NON stick pan. The crusty stuff on the bottom is SO good and adds a great flavor to the end product.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: CHER
Whew! This was a lot of work for a crockpot meal. I followed recipe to a "T" although I used more flour to dredge and didn't need the cornstarch at the end as there was plenty of gravy. After 1 hour on high and 6 hours on slow meat was still tough so it needs 8 hours. Was good but needed more flavor so had to add spices at the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Dan
My girlfriend is one of the choosiest eaters in terms of quality of ingredients, taste, and health benefits. I made this recipe and she says it's the best beef stew she's had in her life. I'm inclined to agree it was incredible. I followed the 1/2 size recipe fairly closely. Just added some extra garlic salt after a couple hours in the slow cooker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes