My Reviews (123)

Chicken Chilli Bean Soup

This recipe makes enough soup to feed a crowd, perfect for cold rainy evenings. It also freezes well so you can have dinner on stand by.
Reviews (123)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
empearls said:
Altered ingredient amounts. When I made this chilli I used 3 cans of beans,, 2cups of frozen corn & 2cups of chicken stock instead of the water. The other thing different I did was let it cook in a crock pot on high for about 6 hrs. There was not even a drop left that football Sunday! Success!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Rebslo said:
Made it more kid friendly. I only used one green and one red capsicum, black beans instead of kidney, and crushed tomatoes instead of diced due to FC (finicky child), and she still didn't like this soup. My husband and I LOVED it; the FC knows nothing! I also substituted chicken stock for the water and added extra corn, and will make it the same way next time. Minced coriander is a tasty garnish!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JAZZDOREN2K1 said:
Used different ingredients. Quick to prepare and good tasting. My husband said it had the perfect blend of seasonings. I added seasoning salt, fresh ground black pepper and used frozen diced onions, green peppers and a mixed bag of veggies. Left out the kidney beans. Topped with sour cream, grated cheddar cheese and tortilla chips.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Amanda
I scaled the recipe in half, and my husband and I still made 2 meals of it. I didn't modify anything else, and it was very delicious.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ANNHE50
I was not at all impressed with this chilli. To me it tasted like it was definitely missing something, and I could not figure out what it was. This soup was watery and the chicken didn't soak up the flavour well at all. It was extremely bland. I eventually added some hot sauce, oregano, and cheese, which seemed to help some. I won't be making this again.
 
16 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: stephlaw70
When I made this chili I used 3 cans of beans,, 2cups of frozen corn & 2cups of chicken broth instead of the water. The other thing different I did was let it cook in a crock pot on high for about 6 hrs. There was not even a drop left that football Sunday! Success!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: cookin'mama
I only used one green and one red pepper, black beans instead of kidney, and crushed tomatoes instead of diced due to FC (finicky child), and she still didn't like this soup. My husband and I LOVED it; the FC knows nothing! I also substituted chicken broth for the water and added extra corn, and will make it the same way next time. Minced cilantro is a tasty garnish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I used a combination of red, orange and yellow organic peppers and I threw in a bunch of fresh minced garlic and three coarsely chopped zucchini in with the chopped veggies/chicken. Instead of kidney beans, I used organic black beans because that's what I had on hand. I used organic chicken broth instead of water to add a little more flavor and after tasting it, I added in onion powder, ground coriander, oregano, paprika, and a little Splenda brown sugar blend and threw in a bit more cumin and chili powder. This soup is very tasty. I highly recommend using all organic ingredients if you can and really adding the extra spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: micky
This is a good recipe. For a quick meal I used ground chicken and chicken broth instead of water. It is now on our list of regular meals, and it carries well for lunch the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Ross
I followed other's suggestions by replacing the kidney beans with black beans (only 3 cans) and replacing water with chicken broth. I also added 50% extra chili powder, real minced (sauteed) garlic instead of garlic powder, and omitted the parsley. It turned out great, but it gets better with age (a crock pot would probably yield the best results).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes