My Reviews (71)

Asian Hot and Sour Soup

This Asian hot and sour soup has been taken to the next level with the cayenne pepper. This is a wonderful dish with a great balance of vegetables and meat.
Reviews (71)


11 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Xia Neifion Clark
I now make this all the time, having incorporated a few tweaks. I always brown the pork in a bit of sesame oil first - this gives great bits to scrape up from the bottom which contribute depth to the flavor of the broth. Just as the pork browns I add 1/2 sweet onion, thinly diced, along with the garlic and the ginger. Then the chicken broth and the remaining ingredients in their order, excluding the cayenne which I haven't used since the very first time when I made this as written. I also use an entire 8 oz. container of diced mushrooms, and rice vinegar in place of white vinegar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: MONCAT3
I am on the South Beach Diet so I used lean ground turkey instead of pork and eliminated the corn and added snap peas and bamboo shoots. This was sooo delicious and easy to make! Kudos!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: JAK3G
I just made this recipe and it tastes like I just picked it up at my favorite Chinese restaurant! I did not add the cayenne pepper because it was spicey enough with the Sezchuan sauce. I am doing Weight Watchers so I used a "soy meat product" called Yves meatless ground stuffer for lettuce wraps in order to cut calories. It figures out to 2 Points per serving this way! I think I might count it as a Core meal too. Very delicious!! I am thinking you could easily add tofu to this as well. Thanks for a keeper!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Bony Kari
This is the exact recipe I needed to use my leftover cabbage & raw ground pork ingredients from making gyoza. The taste is better than expected even if you don't have all the ingredients! I only had one vegetable which was the cabbage (sauteed some onion first in the pot before adding the broth). I used both chicken & beef broth a can each that's all I had in my cupboard, to make a serving for 2. Instead of Schezwan sauce, I used some Srircha chili sauce to give it some spice without measuring. Instead of real ginger, I used powder ginger. Once I added the vinegar, I tried to minimize stirring the soup that much, since I learned from making chicken adobo, to not disturb or stir the meat while it has vinegar otherwise it makes it more sour! Since I had Asian cilantro chopped up as a topping before serving to give it some herb freshness. Will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: ahoffort
very good. I didn't have sezchuan sauce so I used the rooster hot sauce. It was great and easy. I also just used the veggies I had on hand and hot Italian sausage instead of ground pork. ** this time I added sourkraut for some of the cabbage and did not add the vinegar. Excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: UrbanRasberi
Fabulous!! Even though I burned my tongue during the taste-test, I could sense the hot vs. sour. I will definitely make again. I might experiment with different brands of szechwan sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Shawn Crowe
This stuff is delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: ALLFROMSCRATCH
Oh, yes! This hit the spot when you get the cravings for it. I might increase the vinegar to 1/2 c. next time, just because I like the "bite" of it and kick up the heat just a tad. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: AJS58
Restaurant quality at home. I omit the corn, use rice vinegar for distilled and use Sriracha Hot chili sauce to taste. Those who like it hotter, can add to their own liking per individual serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: EatsBooks
I wasted a LOT of produce and food on this one. Not good, tasty, or ANYthing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes