My Reviews (1,029)

Healthy Banana and Oat Biscuits

These biscuits are nutritious, as well as very delicious made with no flour - just oats. The banana and oats make these a filling morning or afternoon tea snack.
Reviews (1029)


Comment:
19 Oct 2010
Leanne0069 said:
Something else. Mixture abit bland - added approx.1/2 tsp of cinnamon and seemed better.
 
29 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: ShannanRicketts
Nice little healthy snacks! I used sundried dates which gave the bikkies a nice caramel flavour. I also used thick cut natural oats for a delicious chewy texture. I think if you wanted to vary the biscuits a bit you could add cacao nibs or even drizzle some melted dark chocolate over the top. For a fluffier texture, I think a couple tablespoons of whole meal self-raising flour could be added. Next time I'll try them with coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Thank you for sharing!
 
16 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: suermuzz
I added dark chocolate instead of the dates (roughly chopped) and added a good pinch of cinnamon, and used vanilla sugar instead of vanilla essence. I also used unsalted butter melted instead of vegetable oil (75g). Our oven is too good (less than a year old), so next time I will try cooking at 170 degrees. Overall very happy with recipe flavor and will make this again.
 
30 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: YEKHEFAH
These are very, very good and healthy! I used chunky applesauce instead of the oil and spiced rum instead of vanilla. I also added about 1/3 cup honey and another 1/2 cup of oatmeal, and left out the dates. They were SO easy and SO quick!! They didn't make a big mess of my kitchen either; no flour or milk or whatever to spill everywhere. I will definitely make them again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: LHOKANSS
My children love these cookies! I have made them with other dried fruits, chopped apples, even mini chocolate chips! I've also baked them in a bar pan for quick soft granola bars. Use parchment paper or grease pan--the banana caramelizes leaving a sticky residue. This is my favorite kid snack recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: SHASTASHEEN
This is a great recipe, the cookies were moist, chewy & very sweet despite being sugar free. The texture is really good. I used chopped dried apricots and raisins instead of dates. They don't spread so you need to flatten them, they turn out the same shape they go in. Make sure you add some spices to it like cinnamon and nutmeg. Loved these, And I don't feel as guilty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: Karen
This was a very good recipe. After reading the comments below I added 3 diced apples, 1/4 cup of walnuts, 1 more cup of oatmeal, 1 tsp each of cinnamon and nutmeg, used the applesauce instead of the oil, added 1/4 cup of coconut, 1/4 cup of wheat germ and 1/2 cup of honey. I also reduced the heat to 325 and the time to 15 minutes. It sounds like it was a lot more work but I found it absolutely delicious and the apples made it VERY juicy. I also greased the cookie sheet with Pam. My son (4) helped me make them and I had to put him on "time-out" for reaching onto the cookie sheet on the stove for another while I wasn't looking. I guess they're good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: estee
These cookies are my favorite healthy treat! I too substitute the oil for applesauce and add nuts, cinnamon, cranberries and raisins. I am not a big fan of dates so I leave them out. I have made these at least 10 times already using all different sorts of dried fruit combinations. They are even good with dried blueberries. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: ALAIKAT
These are great little healthy cookie bites. Bananas and dates make a great sweetener and if you add a bit of cinnamon, cloves, allspice (or whatever), they end up tasting like little banana bread bites. Very good. Very addicting. If you like your cookies sugar-sweet or crispy, then they aren't for you. Sweetness relies on the ripeness of the bananas and sweetness of the dates (so they could be very sweet or only mildly so). Cookies turn out soft. I loved them, and will definitely make them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: PianoGirl1982
What is with all the negative reviews on this recipe? I have been a "health nut" for many years, and this is the FIRST healthy cookie recipe that was actually good! I did follow others' substitutions and additions: 1/2 c applesauce instead of oil Added: 1/3 c honey 1/2 c oatmeal 1 tsp. each cinnamon and nutmeg 1/4 c walnuts The batch made 25 cookies, and here is the nutritional information that I calculated: 88 Calories 1g Total Fat 0 mg Cholesterol 1 mg Sodium 19 g Total Carbs 2 g Dietary Fiber 2 g Protein
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes