My Reviews (22)

Eggplant Caponata Pasta Sauce

This is a rich eggplant sauce which combines the flavours of Italian caponata and parmigiana. Serve over linguine.
Reviews (22)


07 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Trinka G
Delicious recipe! I did omit the sugar entirely because of another cook's comment that the sauce tasted like a Bar-B-Que sauce and it was superb! I figured the Balsamic Vinegar would sweeten the dish enough and I was correct! My whole family gobbled it up - even my 5-year old and 19-month old children. No complaints of itchy mouths either! My husband loved the eggplant mixed in with his fettucini. I would like to suggest to anyone who is contemplating making this dish to go ahead and use the anchovies in the recipe. We are not an anchovy family. I personally hate strong-flavored fish. There is no way I would ever eat a slice of pizza with anchovies on it but when you add anchovies to sauces, it gives a depth to the dish that would be totally lacking if you omitted them. I keep anchovies on hand just for this. It can really make a difference between a good dish and a great one!For this recipe, I used the whole 2 ounce can of anchovy fillets. Just drained the oil from them, chopped them up and tossed them in at the right time. YUM!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: xibits
really good -- but i made some changes: no bell peppers, no wine vinegar, 1/4 c. br. sugar instead of 1/2 c., no anchovies, no capers... great!!! made it again and got rave reviews--again! Here is what one person said: "Oh my gosh, recipe, please!!! Fabulous! Wanted to lick the bottom of the pan but used my broccoli instead." I made it with the capers this time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2008
Reviewed by: Jamie529
Like several others, I made some changes to the recipe based on other comments. I reduced the brown sugar to 3 tablespoons, removed the anchovies, used only balsamic vinegar (didn't have any red wine vinegar handy) and used only about 2 tablespoons of olive oil along with some olive oil spray during sauteing. (Way more healthy with less total fat!) I also added 1/4 cup of chopped kalamata olives, an 1/8 cup of chopped green olives and 3/4 of a cup of sauteed sliced white mushrooms. This was an amazingly good base for a recipe, and even better after sitting a day for the flavors to meld.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: flying fingers
Absolutely wonderful, although I did do a few alterations as I did not have a few ingredients. I used green olives ground up in blender instead of capers, accidently cooked the peppers with the onion, and used green onion instead. It is a bit sweet, and I might back off a bit on the sugar next time, but there WILL be a next time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Debbie Bloodgood Sileo
This is a very distinctive tasting dish, the kind you either love or hate. I loved it, thought it was tasty and different, my hubby hated it, wanted to know why I put barbecue sauce on eggplant. If you are looking for a more traditional italian tasting sauce for on top, I would suggest cutting way back on the vinegars and sugar. If you like something new, than leave it as is (maybe still less brown sugar!).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Kristin B
I made this dish last night for Valentines Day and it was amazing! I followed all the reviews and didn't really measure my oil, just used enough to saute the veggies. It was the perfect amount! Everything about this dish was great, I even made extra sauce to use with chicken parmigiana...(my boyfriend wanted both chicken and eggplant). All I had to do was add s bit of vodka and heavy cream to the sauce, and a bit of tomato paste and it was amazing with the chicken. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: BLONDIE1426
I would probably give this more like a 3.5 stars... we liked the flavors, and with a few modifications it could be a 5. The "fixes" I made would equate to the following modifications on the original recipe. First, I did not use any anchovies or capers. I used only about 2 tbs each of balsamic and red wine vinegar, and about 2 tbs brown sugar (the original recipe made it WAY too sweet!). Also, I would drain the tomatoes (I used diced instead of stewed) and would not saturate the eggplant with oil--my husband and I both thought it was way too oily and liquidy. Definitely has potential though--a good start!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2007
Reviewed by: smc
For all you Ichthyophobics out there, this is a fabulous recipe that integrates anchovies into a tart, vegetable delight. Also great for any eggplant aficionados.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Domestic Goddess
The sauce is delicious and I and used over eggplant rollatine instead of the original eggplant recipe provided. The vinegars & anchovies made it very tasty but I cut down the amount of brown sugar as I found it too be a bit too sweet 1st time around. It is one of our favorite pasta sauces now!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: awilkinson
Very good and makes a pretty dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes