My Reviews (64)

Chicken with Mangoes and Avocado

Chicken and avocado complement each other perfectly and mangoes add sweetness. Served with a tangy lime dressing.
Reviews (64)


15 May 2007
Reviewed by: Xia Neifion Clark
I've made this several times now... first exactly as called for in the recipe, then with personal tweaks. Now it's one of our staple meals! I always cook the chicken first with seasonings, garlic, sweet onion, and sometimes a red pepper. Also we prefer spinach over lettuce, to which I add a handful of chopped, fresh cilantro and sometimes green onions. The dressing is stellar. Once I made the chicken extra spicy, and added 2 Tablespoons of plain yogurt and 1 Tablespoon of mango chutney to the dressing to balance the flavors, which was also really, really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: KARMANA
Mango and avacado is a wonderful combo and the dressing is beautiful. I think I'd even make it again to use as a dressing for any type of salad or as a sauce for chicken. I did use spinach instead of lettuce and found that to be very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: chibiharuka
Great flavor, nice colors, this dish was unusual, and everyone seemed to like it. Filling yet light, and used as a main dish. The lime juice gave it a nice tartness, but was balanced with the brown sugar. I used chicken tenderloins cooked & lightly seasoned just before making the salad, and added 1/2 c of shredded carrots just because I wanted extra veggies in it. Really good, I'd make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: NikkiC
I made a few changes to this recipe. I nixed the brown sugar because mango is sweet enough on its own and seasoned the chicken first with chili powder, cayenne pepper and garlic then added some hot sauce to it. I diced some tomatoes, red onions and cilantro to add to the avocado and mango, added the lime juice and then topped with the chicken. Instead of iceberg lettuce which I find disgusting, I used spinach. Came out great. The spicy savory taste of the chicken was nicely juxtaposed with the sweetness of the mango and the buttery avocado.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Suefood
I really liked the dressing but I do not know what type of chili garlic sauce was used - I used the hot Asian type and used 3/4 of a tsp. I also added 2 T. Mango Chutney. Fabulous ! You can leaave out the chicken for a first course salad and add some thin slices of red bell pepper and for extra fun top with a little toasted sunflower seeds. Everyone loved it. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Countess
I usually like combinations of flavors like thi, but this just didn't work for me. Best to eat immediately after making; it doesn't keep well at all, even a day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: JulieLeanne
Very bold flavors. I loved the sweet/spicy combo of the dressing. I used simple grilled chicken - sliced thin on top of the salad and it worked out nicely. One important note is not to pour the entire batch of sauce over the top. A couple of drizzles should do, or the flavors of the salad are overpowered – more can be added as needed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2010
Reviewed by: emilywirt@yahoo.com
This was pretty easy and yummy to make. The dressing was good if you used only a little bit, but it was easily overwhelming on the salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Mairi
Really love this dish. I shred the chicken up and toss it into the chopped lettuce (my family like it with Iceberg Lettuce) and if you don't have any mangoes, tinned mandarines are also nice with it too. I am not keen on the dressing, but my family and I love this dish with ranch dressing. A lovely meal in the summer months.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2012
Reviewed by: RachelTess
This is delicious! I have made it twice and it is amazing - I make my own chili garlic sauce though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes