My Reviews (69)

BBQ Chicken Kebabs with Satay Sauce

This simple marinated chicken tastes just delicious, especially when paired with this spicy peanut sauce for dipping or basting. The end result is a beautiful flavour!
Reviews (69)


12 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: courtney
The chicken was fantastic! I made this chicken but used the peanut sauce recipe from 'peanut sauce II' I don't have a grill, so I skipped the skewer and grill bit and just fried the chicken in a frying pan, then served the chicken and sauce over rice. I had a guest over for dinner and he kept commenting on how good it was! I'll definately be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Yummum
I'd give 4.5 if I could. The chicken was very tender, and the peanut sauce was OK... I think I'd sweeten it up a bit and add less soy sauce and more chiles next time, but that is just a matter of personal taste. What I hate about EVERY peanut sauce recipe I try is the reliance on peanut butter!!! The sauces you get in really good thai restaurants don't have that same waxy/silky texture that the peanut butter produces, but I simply cannot find a peanut sauce recipe without it!! Maybe time to create my own (and then post it!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: mariegal
YUM! This was great. It made a lot of sauce, but it was good. My sister in law is from Thailand and this was very similar to her chicken satay. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: yavie
Like everyone has said, this recipe makes tons of sauce. My solution? Make a full meal out of this by cooking up some rice noodles and green peas, putting the chicken on top, and spooning the sauce over it all. May not be the most "authentic", but it tastes delicious and means I don't need a separate vegetable dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2009
Reviewed by: dollarbill22
Used Oyster Sauce instead of fish sauce for marinade.cooked chicken on stovetop, Chicken came out awesome. Made peanut II sauce instead, as suggested by another came out great, an had more common ingredients. Thanks for recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Wannabe Gardener
Loved this dish. A few adjustments: broiled instead of grilled the chicken and used dried chili pepper flakes instead of fresh (what I had on hand). Made a lot of sauce but the sauce tastes so good, that isn't a problem. I think the sauce would also be great tossed with rice noodles.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Jade
What a lovely recipe! I last had chicken satay with peanut sauce 3 or 4 years ago and have been hankering to try it out for ever so long! There is definitely too much sauce for this amount of chicken, I suggest making only 1/3. (I'll be freezing the left over though; it just too good to throw away!) I also suggest tasting your sauce and adding whichever ingredient you feel is lacking. Finally I processed my onions to get that 'minced' requirement and it worked like a bomb!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: IndianaAnna
This recipe is fantastic! I just made a few modifications to the chicken based on reviews and from looking at other satay recipes. I added about 3/4 tsp each of cumin, coriander, turmeric, and about 1/2 cup of plain yogurt in with the marinade and I upped my chicken to 1.5 lbs of meat. I broiled the chicken strips instead of grilling because my grill-master wasn't home. I made the peanut sauce exactly as written except I used vegetable oil. I served it with rice and used the peanut sauce on my rice as well as dipping the chicken YUM!!!!! I didn't want to stop eating, but eventually I had to!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Jennyj
The only thing I added was 2 tsp of curry powder to the sauce to give it just a bit more depth and a 3 inch piece of lemongrass (took out the lemongrass after cooking sauce for 10 min) I was afraid to add the fish sauce, but very glad I did. It does make a difference! Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: EPRUETZ
This recipe was a big hit at our block party! I substituted red pepper flakes for fresh red peppers and it tasted great -- a perfect little kick at the end. I've already shared this recipe with a number of people, as everyone was asking for it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes