My Reviews (48)

Chickpea Curry (Channa Masala)

This traditional Indian channa masala features tinned chickpeas simmered with fresh tomatoes and diced onions. Seasoned with ginger, cumin, curry and coriander.
Reviews (48)


12 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: Manukaberry
I used Coconut Flour instead of Rice Flour as that was all I had. This dish was really nice, thanks for sharing it.
 
09 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: fallingfate
Tasty.... I cooked it all in the frypan rather than blending first. .. has anyone tried this with coconut milk?
 
09 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Mfundis Scott
really, really good and very easy to prepare. I used ground cumin instead, adding after cooking the onions 5 minutes, and also added 8 0z. of yogurt at the end, cooking maybe 5 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Alida Rovetto
Things I did.. I marinated my garbanzo beans in some garam masala overnight. This adds depth to the dish. I sauteed the onion in canola oil, added ginger then (1) 28oz can of chopped tomatoes. Cooked thoroughly. Added beans and used an immersion blender to puree a little bit. I then added (1) 14oz can of lite coconut milk. Cooked a little further. Tasted it to check to see if it needed anything. I added a couple more shakes of garam masala. Simmered on the stove for another 10 minutes. Served over rice. Only giving it 3 stars b/c as written I think it needs some tweaking. Possibly 4 stars with my tweaking. Thanks for sharing !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Lizzie
This was very good, though I did make some modifications to it: I tried to roast the cumin seeds as directed, but I didn't have much luck with that, so I ended up scooping them out of the pan and using cumin powder instead. After I followed the recipe, I didn't like the flavor too much (I felt I could still taste the "canned" flavor of the chickpeas), so I added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste and some more cumin and curry. I'll admit that the first night it was... ok. The second day, it was better, and the third day, WOW, it was great. I really loved the texture that came from putting the tomatoes and onions in the blender. I wasn't sure it would be worth the effort, but it actually gave the sauce a nice smoothness that I really enjoyed. I will definitely try it again (with no changes) and see how it goes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Brittles
My husband is not a fan of vegetarian so I added ground beef. I did not have cumin seeds, rice flour or garbanzo beans. I substituted cumin powder, white flour, and navy beans. It turned out a little bland but it hit the spot! I will be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: nursegirl
This was delicious and exactly what I was looking for! I used ingredients that I had on hand- like a 14 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes with garlic for the tomatoes, ground cumin and ginger and regular all purpose flour. It was simply delicious over jasmine rice and economical too. I will definitely be making this often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: diggindc
LOVED this! I pretty much made it as the recipe calls, except I didn't have cumin seeds or fresh ginger (but I am pleased with the taste I got from the powdered substitutes). I also really like cilantro, so I at least doubled the amount. And because I had some chicken, I threw some of that in there, too. I will TOTALLY be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2011
Reviewed by: vburrito
Freezes & reheats really well!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: amiddl
Another hit. Used a dry pre-mix of curry spices and canned diced tomatoes. I'm convinced that the curry mix makes it. Also used tapioca flour instead of rice and 1/2 inch of ginger. Not as tomato-y as I'm used too but that'll be fixed next time with addition of tomato paste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes