My Reviews (994)

Classic Moist Banana Bread

This banana bread is moist and delicious because of the sour cream. Once you make it you will always be asked for more banana bread. Just try it!
Reviews (994)


28 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: MimiAlea
This is a wonderful treat. When, I make this recipe, I make the following changes: add another cup of mashed bananas, use butter instead of margarine, use 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar instead of all white sugar, add 1 teas cinnamon and 1 teas nutmeg. I like to dust the greased baking pan with sugar and cinnamon. Before I put in the oven, I sprinkle the top with a crumbly mixture of 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2-3 tbsp flour, 1/2 teas cinnamon, 2 tbsp melted butter and 1/4 cup finely chopped walnuts. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: STARZ7369
I've made this recipe time and time again and always get excellent results!! -I always stick to margarine, even though I'm tempted to use butter!! -I've been short on sour cream and added flavored yoghurt to make up for the lacking. -I add 3 bananas (medium-large size), but add a couple additional tablespoons flour to ensure it doesn't turn out soggy. -As a personal preference, I also add toasted chopped nuts (about 3/4 cup) at the end. For people who might be having issues with it getting too dark on top, here's my suggestions: Turn your oven to 375-400 and bake it for 5-7 minutes. (This ensures your bread gets a good "oven pop" from the heat. The baking powder reacts with the heat, therefore this initial heat will help your bread rise and give it a good peak.) After the 5 minutes, lower your oven to 350 and cook the rest of the way. If your bread starts to darken on top, but is still gooey inside, simply place a piece of foil on top and continue to bake as normal. Do not wrap the bread in the foil, simply lay it flat on top. Just remember all ovens are different, therefore a bit of trial & error will help solve certain issues and hopefully teach you things in the process!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: DiversWife
I've made this recipe several times and have varied it each time to see what kind of different results I could get. Here's what I've learned: First, grease (don't flour) a 9x13...second, increase the amount of bananas to about 3 ripe bananas and a HEAPING cup of sour cream...third, use brown sugar instead of white and fourth, don't allow to cool completely before placing in a Ziploc bag. I usually cut the cake in half and freeze half while the other half sits in a sealed container on the counter. It really retains its moisture when stored this way, however, you need to eat it rather quickly (like w/in 4 days..which is REALLY easy to do!) This also makes a good "cake" if you mash half of the banana and leave half in chunks. Then, sprinkle powdered sugar on top or frost w/ a cream cheese based frosting (or a tub of that flavored cream cheese)...it's a hit! 3 Years Later...I'm still being asked to make this bread, but I've made several modifications since my first attempt in 2006. Here are my favorites. I use wheat flour now...it's just a healthier choice. I use light sour cream now. I add a handful of golden raisins to the mix as well as about 1/2 cup of sliced almonds (if I'm feeling really creative, I brown them first). Lastly, in an effort to get more fiber into my diet, I add about 4 tbsp. of Fibersure or Benefiber to the mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: LuVeLLe
This recipe is really great! I made some changes to make it even better. I substituted the sour cream with non-fat plain yogurt, the margarine with applesauce and 1 1/3 cup white sugar with 1 cup brown sugar. After mixing everything, I cut in chunks of banana to make it even more banana-y. It came out so moist and chewy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: TAFLIN297
I have tried a lot of banana bread recipes and this is the best yet. I cut back to only 1 cup of sugar and added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. Very moist and disappears fast!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: JOSIE
Very good banana bread Cathy. I had bought a huge batch of bananas from Costco and very seldom do we get through them all before they start to turn brown. I mashed up 2 large bananas (a little over a cup) and used vanilla flavored yogurt instead of sour cream. I also threw in a teaspoon of cinnamon to give a little added flavor. I baked them in 2 loaf pans and they came out beautifully. I wish I would have added some chopped walnuts, but didn't think of it at the time. Might try that next time. The picture of this bread is beautiful...thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Laura Pitaniello
I also used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and it came out so moist! This was by far the best banana bread recipe I have used. Excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: LISNLAUREN
Really really good! I've never made banana bread before - not from scratch anyways. I used 3 bananas and had only 3/4 cup of sour cream (just barely enough, it was all I had!). I baked it in a dark 9x13 inch pan and after 35 minutes I checked it and it was done. Very yummy. The second time I made it, I used 2 loaf pans and it came out even better than the first time! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: WINMASTER
I've cut down the sugar content to 1 cup and it is still very sweet cause I used very ripe bananas. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: KMS1970
Excellent Banana Bread. You use quite a few bowls in preparation but definitely worth it! Very good...thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes