My Reviews (15)

Lamb and Vegetable Stew

This lamb and vegetable stew is Arabic inspired where it is called Tabakh Rohoo and includes a wide range of spices including allspice, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and cardamom.
Reviews (15)


21 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: TERESA52
This was absolutely delicious!! I used a larger quantity of spices and it turned out really well. I shall definately be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: MACLEOD26
This really didn't work for me. I'm at a loss as to how so many wonderful ingredients can end up tasting so, well, bad. It smelled fabulous while cooking, but tasted flat. I might have done something wrong (not sure how, but possible) since I'm not familiar with Damascene dishes - I found this recipe looking for a dish to use up zucchini and lamb. Anyway, I won't be making again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: MARG
This stew has wonderful flavours, and I will definitely make it again, mainly because it so tasty and also because of it's low fat content. I found it to be a bit watery, though, but I may have cooked it too long.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: JANNACAKE_RD
I give this recipe four stars because it is delicious, but i did add a few things: a dash of lemon juice, about 2 tbsp curry powder. I fried the lamb and eggplant on the stove, layered the whole thing in a casserole dish WITH one cup uncooked rice mixed with hot water, divided, and baked in oven at 425 for about an hour. TALK ABOUT YUM YUM YUM!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: guzziman
I sustituted canned Italian tomatoes for fresh,cut them up right in the can. This is a keeper! The lamb gets melt in your mouth tender. The aroma is fabulous! A bit tricky turning this out of the pot while retaining the layers (I failed). Different, easy, delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Vladadeska
The flavor was wonderful. I'm always trying to find ways to make things lower in fat so instead of using ghee, I cooked the lamb in chicken broth. I failed miserably at keeping the stew in layers. I couldn't get the broth from the bottom to wash the extra spices down in the stew so I just stirred it all up. I also had 2 eggplants but no zuchini so I used all eggplant. It could have been a little spicier but since I make everything way spicy, I figured it was a welcome break for my family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah
This is one of the best dishes I've ever made. The mint really adds dimension. I followed the recipe exactly, except I skipped the chili pepper and didn't bother to transfer it to a serving dish. I will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: UmmOmar
This was very delicious! I wasn't sure how I would like the eggplant in it because I usually don't care for eggplant, but it was great. The only change I made was that I used a common Middle Eastern spice mix that I had in the cabinet instead of the individual spices. I made it on the stovetop as the recipe called for, but I'm pretty sure it would be just as great in the oven as well. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: linda
Fabulous. The lamb was so tender. I was planning to have leftovers, but it was so good we ate the whole thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Jess G
Absolute crowd pleaser! And I'm talking about a crowd that was brand new to any kind of Arabic food. I did make some modifications: I subbed unsalted butter for ghee (not readily available near me), after browning the lamb I put everything in a crockpot on low for 3-4 hours. I added cauliflower, raisins and cashews and doubled the spice mixture (as I hear others did). I added roughly 1 cup of chicken broth midway through cooking just because the slow cooking seemed to be drying the veggies out. It made the most delicious sauce! I served alongside lemon scented basmati rice (made with the peel of 2 lemons, 2 cups basmati, garlic and a handful of chopped cilantro) and it was divine. Thanks for posting this recipe, it's now one of the family faves.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes