My Reviews (797)

Gluten Free Chickpea Chocolate Cake

A very good high protein alternative to flourless chocolate cake. You need a food processor to do the mixing. Give it a try!
Reviews (797)


08 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: berberi
Wonderful gluten free choice and others love it too. Works well with a stick mixer. Don't process it too much or the texture becomes so fine it is almost chalky. Best to leave some chick pea roughness. Use good chocolate though!
 
14 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: cowgirl3915
I made this for my son's girlfriend who is Gluten free, and I'm making it again today for a friends birthday cake, she's gluten and lactose free....very nice cake...
 
01 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Dorothy123Dallas
I made this chocolate cake , it's yummy I put two cans of chickpeas in and that weighed 500grams ,I made sure it was well blended and smooth, it did not taste grainy at all will go lovely with cream or icecream , will make it again ,cheers
 
09 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: NicoleSmolyar
Hi. With such good reviews i am really looking forward to making this. Once made is it beat stored in the fridge or at room temperature? Also how long does it stay fresh for? Thanks
 
09 May 2017
Reviewed by: Sontre
I love this cake. Easy to make. I have made this a few times now. My favorite chocolate cake. Friends were surprised when I told them it had chick peas in it. I used raw sugar instead of white.
 
25 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: AUSSIEMUM1
I used organic chickpeas in a can (just one can) that I prewashed in a sieve before processing, a cup of peeled, diced, fresh apple (instead of sugar), 4 large eggs, Nestle dark chocolate chunks (next time I’ll make sure I get chocolate without soy lecithin). And I threw everything into my Nutri Ninja Bullet. Everything fit into the tall canister. The Bullet blended everything super smooth. The cake didn’t rise a lot but it was super fudgy moist and had a sort of crackle top like a brownie. It is very rich, dense and chocolaty. You really can’t eat too much at once The texture reminded me of high-end restaurant flourless cakes. I served the cake with freshly whipped cream without sugar and frozen mixed berries that I thawed. So easy. So amazing. It really hits the spot with a chocolate craving. I just hope I don’t react to chickpeas! Note: I did react. I don't know to what. My hands swelled up which is always the first thing that happens when I react to a food. I think it's the baking powder. My baking powder is gluten free, but I read the back of the container and it says 'rice flour'. Lately, I've discovered that I react to soy and rice flour. Soy lecithin was in my dark choc chunks and rice flour in my gluten free baking powder. After some research, I've decided next time I'll use 1/4 tsp of bicarb soda mixed with white vinegar, and I'll find a dark chocolate without the soy. But I will definitely try this recipe again! It is worth it!
 
03 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Sam64
I absolutely love this cake. It's so simple to make and is always enjoyed. I make it for work colleagues where one happens to be gluten intolerant so it works well.
 
20 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: ChezFin
Deliciously decadent and none of my family could believe it was made on chickpeas. Served with whipped cream and fresh berries.
 
06 May 2015
Reviewed by: Marcelle
I used 300g of dark chocolate and made it as cupcakes so that it would be handy for school morning tea. The kids knew it was gluten free, but nevertheless really yummy, they had no idea it had chickpeas in it. It's a fabulous recipe for anyone with gluten and dairy intolerances.
 
21 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: mdeedee
Can't believe its got chick peas. Turned out great! Used a cooking thermometer to probe the cake; its cooked at 99 degrees celcius. Used Lindt 70% dark cooking chocolate and 1 plus 1 mini can chickpeas.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes