My Reviews (15)

Lebanese Whipped Garlic

Deceptively simple recipe for Lebanese-style whipped garlic. Intense and delicious with an infinite number of applications -- it's lovely spread on plain pita bread or used as a dip for veggies.
Reviews (15)


16 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Elianza
Am Lebanese and was really surprised when I saw that recipe posted here... the secret ingredient in this recipe is to add a little bit of lemon juice and the end.. the garlic will turn to white color.. it's yummmmmmmmmi with grilled chicken
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: SPELTRONG
I make this all the time, with one KEY difference. I roast the garlic first. It's easy.. just cut the tops off of five or six bulbs of garlic, wrap in foil, and bake in the oven for 45 minutes or so until they're mushy. Then squeeze out all the garlicky goodness and mix with salt if desired. It's amazingly good, and the garlic isn't hot after being roasted. I wonder if this part was missing from the recipe? I can't imagine eating 3 cups of raw garlic. Yikes! Anyway, try it that way and it might be much tastier. :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: luv2cook
I agree with another reviewer, roasting the garlic makes it mellow. I could not imagine eating this raw. This is way too much salt and way too much oil. Cut back the salt to taste or perhaps a teaspoon, drizzle the oil over the cloves just enough so that the blender does not stall. I also use the small baby food blender cups, and make this in batches so the salt and oil is very limited; sometimes I add a tablespoon of lemon juice to the mix rather than more oil. I have been roasting garlic for about 10 years now and love it. I use it on baked potatoes, hot pasta, mixed with a little butter to make garlic toast or brushed on brushetta before adding the topping. It is wonderful on sandwiches in place of butter or mayo. I have been known to add 1/2 a teaspoon of red chili flakes before pureeing the cloves. Please, try roasting it first, you will really like it and it's versatility!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: MARCUS1124
Try doing 2/3 roasted garlic, 1/3 raw garlic. The combination of the roasted and raw enhances both.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: MRSBLUE1
All I have to say is "WOW!" I love it! and it's so easy to make. Of course, my children wouldn't come near me for the rest of the day, but it was worth it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: BEADED66
I did not enjoy this! Way too salty and so hot I almost burned the inside of my mouth. I was disappointed. I am accustomed to Lebanese puree that is white, light and fluffy with strong garlic, but definately not THAT strong. This was yellow, soupy, salty and beyond hot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: ds
This was aweful! I wasted 9 heads of perfectly roasted garlic! It was SO salty I think I felt my blood pressure rise! I only put in half the amount of salt. Did I miss something? If you roast it, do you put no salt in? I think I might try this again but with no salt. Then again, I think I have better things to do with that much garlic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: akdebs
I was hoping this was like the branded Lebanese Breeze whipped garlic... maybe I did something wrong but it was WAY too hot. This is coming from a family of serious garlic lovers. I will still use everything in recipes - it certainly will not go to waste, but WOW!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Kayjay
I can hardly begin to describe this. The salt was overwhelming and the garlic nearly burned a layer of skin off my mouth - and I do love garlic! There certainly seems to be something wrong with these proportions. We looked at other recipes and noticed the addition of lemon juice and roasting the garlic to decrease the harshness. I've since researched several other recipes that look more promising. Hope to find a good recipe for this yet!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
OH wow, this little recipe is so up my alley!! My grandmother used to make this for me all the time when I was little, except she used butter instead of the evoo. I skipped the salt entirely and loved it just the same. Thank you!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes