My Reviews (49)

Pork in Tomatillo Sauce

I love this Mexican meal of sauted pork with tomatillo sauce. If you cannot get tomatillos, green tomatoes are a good substitute, though not quite the same.
Reviews (49)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ASHEVILLE14 said:
Something else. I have been using a recipe almost identical to this one for 25 years ! I put a pork roast into my crock pot and add the sauce( without cooking first) and cook on low until the roast is tender but not falling apart. Add some coriander-cook 15 min. more. Serve as a burrito filling, etc. Also excellent with scrambled eggs! I use fewer chillis, but I'm a wimp! First class recipe.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SMPARSONS said:
Something else. Pretty good. A little sweet for my tastes. Instead of cooking it in 2 separate pans, I cooked the pork in a cast iron frypan, removed it when done, and added the ingredients for the sauce to the frypan.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ALI_PALI said:
Used different ingredients. Fast and easy, a delicious meal. I added one large green capsicum, in slices, to the pan to simmer with the meat and sauce and it came out great!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Mark P
My family absolutely loved this, I wouldn't change a thing. I used canned tomatillos and tomatoes as that's what I had on hand. The sauce is very versatile and it would be a great topping for smothered burritos. Later: I had to edit the review to add that I made the sauce and poured over boneless pork chops in a slow cooker for 8 hours on low, then shredded the meat and served as tacos...AWESOME! Family loves the recipe both ways.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Moni_Stout
WOW, This is a great recipe. I've made it twice, once for my boyfriend, and once for a dinner party. Everyone loved it, and I'm in southern New Mexico which means we know our mexican food. A native mexican from Sonora raved about it!
 
27 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: Creekside
I have been using a recipe almost identical to this one for 25 years ! I put a pork roast into my crock pot and add the sauce( without cooking first) and cook on low until the roast is tender but not falling apart. Add some cilantro-cook 15 min. more. Serve as a burrito filling, etc. Also excellent with scrambled eggs! I use fewer chilis, but I'm a wimp! First class recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: JACKIEAE
My family absolutely loved this, I wouldn't change a thing. I used canned tomatillos and tomatoes as that's what I had on hand. The sauce is very versatile and it would be a great topping for smothered burritos. 4/25/06- I had to edit the review to add that I made the sauce and poured over boneless pork chops in a slow cooker for 8 hours on low, then shredded the meat and served as tacos...AWESOME! Family loves the recipe both ways.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: HAZYJAY
Pretty good. A little sweet for my tastes. Instead of cooking it in 2 separate pans, I cooked the pork in a cast iron skillet, removed it when done, and added the ingredients for the sauce to the skillet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: AngelinaC
Wonderful recipe. I put six pork chops in a slow cooker with the sauce and cooked for about six hours. The meat just fell apart and became a wonderful filler for tortillas. For the sauce I used one can of tomatillas, one jar of salsa verde, and one can of diced tomatoes as the base. Now a favorite in my home.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: erwin4
This was good, but I think would be better done in the crockpot so the meat is more tender. The sauce is excellent and has the perfect amount of spice. Will definitely be making this again. I might try with beef and use for taco filling. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes