My Reviews (12)

Scallops in Poulette Sauce

A quick and easy but tasty microwave scallop recipe. Great even for beginner cooks. My mother had given me this recipe. Poulette is a French cooking term, referring to the type of sauce.
Reviews (12)


05 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: 1JOHN513
This was very good, but I substituted fresh mushrooms for canned and I didn't use the microwave. Instead, I made the roux in the frying pan, and while I was doing that, I sauteed the mushrooms seperately. Then I added them to the roux (thickened butter/flour mixture), along with the half & half, wine, etc., and let that reduce a little while I sauteed the scallops, adding one small garlic clove to the scallops when they were almost done. The sauce was a little too thick, so I added addt'l wine and lemon juice to thin it out a little, and then added the scallops to the cream mixture. I served them over angel hair pasta, along w/fresh asparagus and a warmed baguette. It was very good, but I wished I had some chicken broth to thin it out and lighten the sauce a little. (I don't like heavy cream sauces, so it might be perfect for someone who does.)Next time, I will reduce the half & half to 1/4 cup, and use 1/4 cup chicken broth, having more on hand to add if needed. Also, I didn't add in the bay leaf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: NANUQ2003
Very flavorful. I also used fresh mushrooms, to use canned would be a shame. The sauce was a bit too thick so I thinned it out with more wine. I did this whole recipe in a frying pan, I don't care for microwave cooking. It turned out perfect! I will be making this again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Stephanie Proctor
I made this recipe on the stove top instead of the microwave. It's very simple to make even that way. I made a few changes to the recipe, and it came out absolutely delicious. I used sliced baby bella mushrooms instead of from a can; I didn't use the egg because the sauce was already thick enough, and it was fine without it. I also let it simmer altogether with the milk instead of adding it later. I served it over pasta and enjoyed every single bite. Definitely will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: HouseOfAnnaM
The recipe was good. I used the stovetop instead of the microwave and had a good result. Next time I will add maybe 1/2 clove of minced garlic and a splash more lemon juice. Excellent idea, I wouldn't have invented that on my own
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: lutzflcat
I could not see doing this in the microwave for fear of turning the scallops into rubber. Unlike sea scallops, bay scallops are small (about the size of a dime), and this recipe calls for a total of 11 minutes cooking time at high. With the price of scallops, I was not about to risk ending up with something overcooked and inedible. I cooked this on the stovetop, and it still was very quick, and I used freshly-sliced mushrooms rather than canned. I served over a bed of angel hair pasta, and the flavor was pretty good. I could see grating some freshly-grated parmesan over the top making it even better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: ashleyclemann
I've made this a few times, one of my favorite recipes for scallops... With some changes. I make it all in a skillet, not the microwave. I use fresh mushrooms and onions. Added a bit more wine and lemon juice as the sauce tends to be very thick. Add a dash of red pepper flakes for some heat. Also add a dollop of plain Greek yogurt near the end for extra tang, and serve over pasta
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: LEO
Very good! Doubled the sauce but other than that we followed the recipe. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: James
It was quick and easy, the sauce very tasty. I've made it a couple times now and each time I did use fresh mushrooms. Love Scallops !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Dick Clemenson
I made a few changes. Instead of parsley added red pepper flakes as I served it. Instead of canned mushrooms I minced fresh mushrooms and added them to the melted butter before I made the roue. Then added a few sliced mushrooms also. Served over angel hair. It was delicious and I will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2016
Reviewed by: Wendy
I didn't think scallops would come out tender made in the microwave but these did. The recipe was very tasty. Rich and Creamy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes