My Reviews (96)

Savoury Cheese, Bacon and Zucchini Muffins

If you are growing zucchinis this is a great recipe to use up any surplus. Cheese and bacon are the perfect combination for this tasty muffin.
Reviews (96)


01 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: fireviper82
I tried this recipe only forgot to shop for zucchini and changed clove of garlic for teaspoon minced. Worked out realy well. Thanx for the recipe.
 
15 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
I am the submitter of this recipe. I have just made another batch after receiving a less than stellar review. I followed the recipe exactly and had excellent results, again. My total baking time was 32 minutes. Some pointers to follow when baking anything - allow cold ingredients to come to room temperature (unless the recipe specifically states COLD). Cold ingredients drop the temperature of the batter resulting in longer baking time/underdone baked goods. This recipe calls for milk and an egg. I let mine warm up first (you can cheat here). Remember that oven temperatures vary, but the temp is always hotter at the top and cooler at the bottom. Opening the oven door repeatedly can also drop the temperature by up to 25 degrees. I do have one recommendation - if you use liners, I'd go with the foil type - the cheese in these muffins tends to stick to the paper. These are a moist muffin inside - there is yummy melty cheese all through.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: MamaHealthNut
I was really excited to make these sadly they were bland. It needs at least 2 to 3 more bacon slices and maybe and extra 1/2 cup cheddar cheese or even a sharp white cheese added. It also needs a tablespoon of mixed herbs such as rosemary and thyme. I will try these again with these alterations and update my post.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Laurie618
These looked nice but the only flavor was bacon. Certainly not worth the time and ingredients. There are much better recipes out there to use zucchini.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Cherry Blossom
Didn't turn out very well. They were kind of gooey, sticky, (45 min to bake) and very bland. I will not make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: MeeKum
My husband loves most anything cooked with zucchini but he did not like these muffins. Maybe it was the combination of the different ingredients? Don't know. As to the actual making and baking of them, I had to cook them longer than called for. When they were nice and browned and the toothpick came out clean, I removed them from the oven, only to have them sink. Will not be making them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Jane Dough
Very bland. I should of drained the Zucchini , the added moisture from them made these too moist. Needs alot to give flavour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: SARAH_ANNEJ
My family liked these but I wasn't a fan. I thought they were a bit bland. Perhaps adding some chopped jalepeno would jazz these up enough for me to enjoy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Home Chef Hayes
These were alright as I had to use frozen shredded zucchini. They were a bit bland until I used some butter and pancake syrup. It turned them almost into a sweet breakfast treat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Cindy in Pensacola
They are a little gooey for me.. I tested with a toothpick after 33 minutes and it came out clean so I thought they were done. Now that they are cooled they are gooey. Not sure if it was because I used only 2 T. low fat margarine, fat-free cheddar cheese, egg beater and Hormel Bacon Bits (50% less fat). Maybe you need the real fat for these to turn out correctly. Sorry, Pam, I really did want to like them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes