My Reviews (143)

Creamy Garlic Chicken

Chicken is gently cooked in a combination of chicken stock and white wine which is later reduced and combined with cream to make the rich sauce.
Reviews (143)


25 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Amy37
DIVINE! I used 6 pieces of boneless chicken, 1.5 cups CHARDONNAY (this white is drier than say a sweet Reisling - DRY is KEY!), 1 cup stock, 6 garlic cloves. You need to give the sauce time to thicken once you add the cream. I mixed my leftover chicken, sauce, & rice altogether and saved it for lunch the next day - but I ended up eating it before bed it was so good!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: dre88
I just finished eating this, and I gotta give it 5 stars. It was really tasty and fairly easy to prepare. The one complaint I have about the recipe is the ingredients list 1 tsp each of salt & pepper and the recipe doesn't tell you what to do with them. I added them to sauce while it was reducing and that worked out well for me. Maybe that's why other reviewers thought the sauce was bland - it would have been without the S&P. I thought the consistency of the sauce was perfect, like gravy. I didn't serve with rice, I did pasta with tomato sauce instead and it didn't really go well with the chicken. Next time I will serve with garlic mashed potatoes - it would be fantastic with the sauce!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
23 Nov 2010
Kehoem said:
Altered ingredient amounts. add mushrooms to reduced liquid before adding cream
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
12 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: dinebright
Looked good, but I don't like gummy chicken skin. Instead of following the recipe directions exactly, I cooked the chicken, removed it to a warmer just before finishing, deglazed the pan and proceeded with the sauce directions. When the sauce was reduced to just the right consistency (coated the back of a spoon), I popped the chicken breasts under the broiler to crisp the skin. Pretty plating helped me to avoid mushing the crisp skin: layer the sauce over the plate, add mashed potatoes slightly off center, prop the chicken up against the potatoes and drizzle a little extra sauce over the potatoes. Garnish with chopped fresh scallion and some smoked paprika and you've got a winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Keri
I made this for my hubby and our friends and it was absolutely DELICIOUS!The chicken was lovely and tender and the sauce was gorgeous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
01 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: TARA200
This was excellent. I cut down on the fat a little, such as frying in a smaller amount of butter mixed with olive oil, then drained the fat off before proceeding. The sauce turned out fine in terms of thickness. The key is to reduce the broth quite a bit before adding any cream. I would serve this to guests any time. The chicken was succulent and tender. We had it with steamed baby potatos instead of rice. This one's a keeper for me!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Buzymom
This is not the Portugese Chicken recipe that Vavo use to make. This is EASY and very TASTY. I did not use butter and used just a little olive oil. I also replaced the cream with tomato sauce. Even my picky children ate every bite and the hubby made sure he wiped up all the sauce on his plate with a nice crusty slice of bread. This is definetly a keeper. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: BARNKITTY
This smelled heavenly while cooking. I guess I was expecting a bit of a thicker sauce, but it was still tasty. Subbed apple juice for the white wine. Great flavor on the chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
24 Aug 2010
Keri said:
Used different ingredients. I added half a teaspoon of dried parsley just to add a bit extra flavour and colour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Katie H
Yum-o...this tasted like restaurant quality recipe. Will make again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes