My Reviews (582)

Chocolate Chip Coffee Banana Muffins

This recipe was shared with me by my friend, Sharon. She was given the recipe by her mother. Everyone who has tasted them will agree that they are the best muffins ever! It's probably the tablespoon of coffee.
Reviews (582)


13 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: KMM
So easy and definitely a hit with kids and adults alike. Esp yummy straight out of the oven when they're still crispy and warm. Agree though, I'd double the amount of coffee next time as no one could really taste it.
 
15 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: amanda
These were fine but next time I think I would make them total "adult" muffins and maybe double the coffee!
 
07 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: ANGELLEE74
Loved the result, but I altered the recipe. I used 3 large bananas, 1/4 c oil and 1 cup applesauce (unsweetened) in place of the margarine. I used 4 rounded T of instant cofee disolved in just a litte more that 1 T water, only 1 cup of sugar, and 1/4 cup egg beaters in place of the egg. I made the large muffins and baked them for about 35 minutes, then left them in the oven to cool with the door open. They turned out very moist, and the flavor was wonderful...and low-fat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: JMICHELLE
I was looking for a recipe to make banana muffins with the over ripe bananas I had. I found the best recipe ever!!!! I read all the reviews for this recipe and did make a few changes that were suggested. I used 1/4c marg and 3/4c applesauce instead of the full cup of Marg., I used half white and half brown sugar but only used 1 cup total, 3 tbsp coffee in 2 tbsp water,1 1/2 c whole wheat & 3/4 c white flours and I added 2 tsp ground flax seed. They turned out very yummy!! Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: HFRASERNC
These are really good. I followed the advice of others and added extra coffee - a good choice. Instead of adding the full 1 cup of chocolate chips to the batter, I added 3/4 of a cup and used the rest of the cup to sprinkle on top along with chopped walnuts. This made for quite a presentation. Next time I might use less chocolate chips in the batter as the muffins were a bit sweet. Overall a great muffin recipe. Thanks Shelley.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: ERAMSAY1
I used high quality ingredients in this recipe and it still didn't measure up to some of the other reviews. My Husband tried one and said it tasted like hay! My Mom and Grandma both said they wouldn't make them again. As someone who loves to bake and loves banana chocolate combo, I had high hopes for this one, no such luck.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Mama Slone
Delicious!!! I'm not even a big coffee fan but, the coffee flavor really enhances the taste of the chocolate chips. Definitely increase to 3 tbsp's of coffee dissolbed in 3tbsp's of water for best flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: LISARAE
Wonderful muffin recipe!! It is very unique and rich with the combination of chocolate, coffee and bananas. I always have bananas on hand in the freezer for baking and these are great to whip up on cool Autumn mornings! As other reviewers have done, I increased the coffee for a little added punch. Thanks for the recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: GWEN BORN
I took these to a Church meeting and the comments were all favourable. The muffins are moist and the coffee gives them that little extra "oomph" that makes them memorable. My thanks to Shelly and Allrecipes. Gwen - Calgary, Alberta, Canada
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: amanda
This is a wonderful banana muffin recipe. This is the only recipe I use!!! My husband can't wait for the bananas to overripen so he can reep the benefits with these muffins!!! Excellent!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes