My Reviews (10)

Saucy Burger Patties

These hamburger patties are just the thing for a summer barbecue. For a different taste add the vegemite.
Reviews (10)


23 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: WINDSPEAR
I was dissapointed with this one... The hamburger mixture was very wet and the burgers did not hold up well on the grill. They were so soft and mushy they fell apart when trying to turn them. I like ketchup, but this was way too much as it overpowered the hamburgers. After grilling 2 hamburgers as a "test" and it did not work out very well, we added more flour and some cracker crumbs to the remaining meat mixture and tried to grill it. The second batch turned out better, but we ended up throwing away nearly all of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: HEAVENONAPLATE
Try coating the burgers in some beaten egg and then roll in breadcrumbs before grilling. Also, the Australian name for 'yeast extract spread' is Vegemite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Linda Farrell
I halved this recipe to get 2 nice burgers, but what I got was a sticky gooey mess that would not set no matter how I tried. I added flour, more flour and still more flour to no avail. These ended up down the garbage disposal and we had soup for dinner. This was a total waste of good ground beef. It was so bad, I couldn't even take a picture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2009
Reviewed by: David Lloyd-Jones
Agreed on the "yeast extract." Everybody should beat up on Kraft to introduce Vegamite -- preferably in the 500 gram bottle -- to the North American market. I only get it when a friend visits Oz.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: lutzflcat
Every now and then I like to try a recipe that has not had good reviews and, occasionally, I do find a winner. Sorry to say that wasn’t the case this time. I read the reviews about the beef patties being too wet, so I cut the catsup and the barbecue sauce in half, and added more flour. I cooked these on the grill and had a disaster on my hands because they just fell apart and through the grate. I’m giving this recipe 2 stars only because what I was able to salvage actually tasted pretty good, sort of like meat loaf. BUT if I want meat loaf, I’ll turn to one of my meat loaf recipes. I’m not going to try to tweak this recipe so that it works, rather, I’m just moving on. Seriously, I think this recipe has major flaws as written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: just_daveb87
I did not care for this recipe. Way too much ketchup and BBQ sauce and not nearly enough flour. I don't know if maybe the yeast extract spread holds them together better, but if it does, the "optional" should be removed. Altogether, this was a horrible recipe and a complete waste of my ingredients and ground beef.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: suem
No matter how hard I tried, I could not get this hamburg to firm up enough to cook. I added another 1/2 cp flour and 1/2 cp oatmeal and it was still a sticky mush. Cut the ketchup down to 1/4 cp and bbq sauce down to a few tablespoons.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: linderibrook
I made this for my family they all loved it so much i"ll defenitely make this again and again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Emma Crawford
I stopped myself from adding so much liquid to this, there is no way they would have held together to even move them to the grill. I cut the catsup by 1/2 and the bbq sauce by half and they did hold together. I don't know if something got lost in the metric system on this one, but something is really wrong with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: Anne Collins
I did not care for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes